Ken's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This soup was wonderful, it was flavorful without being too spicy. It was also very easy and inexpensive to make. I exchanged a small can of spinach for the carrots, and add pasta and a can of garbanzo beans. I am defiantly going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I tried Ken's minestrone this last week. I was not impressed with it. The hardy flavors that are minestrone just did not come through. I'm sorry but I won't be using this recipe again. Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Truly one of the best Minestrone recipes out there. Definitely add more of each of the seasonings though if you like flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
02.03.13 I have cooked this soup today. I followed the recipe 100%, adding a standard three-finger pinch of the herbs, a smaller pinch of the cayenne pepper, and 1-2 cups of noodles. Fresh grated parmesan cheese on top. This soup tastes very good. My wife who is vegetarian, and enjoys soup at any time of year, declared this soup better than my tomato soup. We are to enjoy this recipe at one time every month ! Thank you Ken for sharing this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
OMG, 10 stars ! This was delish !!! I made as directed but with one addition, I added small elbow macaroni as suggested by others: 2 cups;cooked, (actually 4 cups),I doubled the recipe. I've always known this soup to have pasta in it. Other than that I stayed true to the recipe. This was my first time making this, a little light on seasoning, I will amp it up next time. My husband hates veggies & was asking why I was putting in green beans & that "zucchini stuff", I shooed him away. Well, he loved it, veggies and all ! I doubled the recipe so I could have some for his family gathering & more for my vegan friend coming the next day. Good thing I did, the family finished off the first half & I had enough the next day for my friend & to share with a few other people. I still have plenty & am going to eat it all week until it's gone.. Great for people like me that still sticks to Weight Watcher's Points Plus 2 years after reaching my goal weight ! Thanks Ken !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
i loved this recipe, i just added a few of my own ideas. i used cilantro for the parsley. butternut for the zucchini, pinto beans and lentils. that was only because i didn't have peas and cannellini beans. My husband had two helpings. he said, " this is a meal not a soup!" and i drained a rinsed all beans! my kidney beans were mix and i had removed all skins from the chick peas, this is a very important step. thx for this soup recipe, will make again, by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vermont21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This was a great recipe for a vegetarian soup. I used some fresh herbs and added chopped kale for the last 20 minutes while the soup was on low. I also added the rind from a block of Parmesan cheese. I made some elbow pasta and added it at the very end. For my carnivore husband I put chopped cooked procuitto on top of his. It would have been too bland for his taste without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
So yummy! I don't normally like minestrone, but I needed something my little boy could eat after oral surgery and small bites of fairly soft veggies, beans and pasta seemed a nutritious choice. Grocery store was out of zucchini, so I used summer squash. It added a nice bit of yellow to the reds and greens. Also added pasta to give it some staying power to fill our hungry bellies. Topped it with fresh grated parm and served it with fresh Italian bread. Definitely will be making this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I modified this a little, replaced zucchini with fresh spinach and added some diced chicken but it turned out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
It was EXCELLENT! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the beans as well ( I did) and it tasted delicious! It wasn't too watery... just perfect... even my two year old enjoyed all the yummy beans and veggies inside (Would cut vegies to small bite size pieces for a toddler next time). This will be a recipe I'll use in many years to come! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States