Ken's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Delicious! This was my first Minestrone soup and my husband (very picky) and I both loved it. I didn't have cannelini beans so I used black beans, added more spices (to taste), peas, carrots, potatoes and garlic. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Ran across this recipe while looking for something with green beans in the ingredients. Fabulous recipe. We had never had a minestrone soup. I did some research and found that minestrone is basically a clean out the fridge soup and I set to emptying the fridge!! My big kids liked this but the little ones balked at the chunks of veggies (like they always do). Everyone still ate though and the older set really enjoyed it. Changes made: Skipped the cannellini because we didn't have any, used fresh green beans and used real home made chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was the first soup I've ever made. It has a lot of healthy ingredients, however the broth was very bland. I poached 2 chicken breasts and shredded them, I added them to the soup and then poured in the broth to add more flavor. All in all, it was a very hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerilynn77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This soup was very good. The sauce was a little thin so I added half a can of tomato sauce and also used chicken stock instead of water (you could also use vegetable stock) to add a deeper flavor. I also added some chopped celery to the garlic, onion and carrot. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This came out really good, I added a little bit of pasta, and some Italian sausage. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
WOW! This was the first word my fiancee said when he tried this! He loves minestrone, and this was the recipe that looked the best to us. He is a hardcore carnivore, so we added ground beef cooked with Worcestershire sauce. I also added a cube of beef bullion to the pot. We just finished the left overs, and I am making another pot tomorrow night. This recipe is fabulous! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Nothing like a "Minestrone" soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This soup turned out very flavorful! The only variation from the recipe is that I added a BIG pinch of each herb versus just a pinch. I also threw in some onion and garlic powder for the heck of it. My pot wasn't quite big enough so I left out some of the water, brought it to a boil and then transferred it to my crock pot adding additional water. I let it simmer for a couple hours. I took the advice of another review and added some mini pasta shells. I am not quite sure why other reviewers indicate that the soup was too watery. If it was thick it would be more like a stew! Bottom line, we loved this soup!!! And YES it does taste a lot like the minestrone at Olive Garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
AS GOOD AS ANY RESTRAUNT!!!!! wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 yummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This recipe is healthy and delicious. I doubled the recipe because I was making it for a large group. Everyone loved it. I used the "Better than Bouillion" regular chicken base. I suggest that if you use this product, taste your soup after you add 1 tbsp at a time so as to avoid it getting overly salty. Thanks for the recipe, Ken! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States