Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! The thing I did differently was that I used hot instead of mild enchilada sauce, and also I used leftover broth from my freezer (from carne en su jugo). I also cooked the pork roast whole and shredded it after it was cooked. I also served mine with cabbage, onion, raddish, limes, tostadas and hotsauce. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Hi Ken! Yours is our new favorite posole recipe. The blend of chiles is spot on. I used blsl chicken breast instead of pork loin as this is what I had in the freezer. Condiments: sliced radishes, shredded cabbage, sliced scallions, sour cream and lime wedges. Fabulous! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Skoo
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My boyfriend who considers himself an honorary Mexican and has eaten a LOT of posole in his life said this is the best he's ever had! Now that's a compliment! It had a nice deep smoky flavour, tender meat, lotsa yummy hominy, just a little background of spicy, and a good broth-to-goodies ratio. Some notes: It did take me about an hour or more to get to the first simmer, although I was going at a leisurely pace. I subbed 1/8 tsp allspice because I was out of cloves, and used whole cumin seeds crushed with my mortar & pestal. I topped it with fresh lime, cilantro, shredded mexican blend cheese, extra crushed Mexican oregano, chunks of avocado, and homemade tortilla strips with cumin & corriander. I wish I had cabbage though. I think the crushed oregano really put it over the top. IMO it didn't need the cheese. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe I can't wait to eat the leftovers today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
The only thing I did differently is that I used a fresh New Mexico Chile from my garden in place of the powder. This was excellent! I love me some soup/stew and you could really taste the roasted peppers yet all of the other ingredients stood on their own as well too. The flavors all came together so perfectly. As far as the garnish goes well, top it with what you like or don't top it at all if that is what you choose. The radishes did add a nice touch but they were not necessary. Thank you so much Ken for a wonderful recipe. I highly reccommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed everything to a tee....it was awesome. The kids and hubby loved it. It's a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is fantastic! I cut the recipe in half and it easily fed five people. It has a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
So flavorful!!! I didn't have the pablanos (I know, (I know) so I roasted a red pepper and threw it in instead. The seasoning is perfect in this! I topped mine with radishes and red onion! Thanks Ken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AMAZING!!! Made almost as written and this just may be my new favorite soup recipe, definitely makes the top 10 at least! I let it cook on low for 2 hours before adding the hominy, and then another hour on med-low and the pork was melt-in-your-mouth-fall-aparty!!! Next time I'll cut the recipe in half though cause it makes a VAT, I froze half but it won't be in there long =) Seved it with sliced radishes, avocado, sour cream, a lime wedge and fresh fried tortilla strips. I know some people like cabbage in Posole, but I prefer it without... Heck, some people put pig's feet in there too but I won't be making that addition either! I just LOVE this recipe, and it is authentic enough for this Gringa =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Made this for my family's Sunday supper and everyone LOVED it! I read the recipe wrong so I only had half the amount of hominy needed (bought two 14.5 oz cans) so I threw in a can of black beans. Thanks for sharing, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is one of my favorite Mexican stews. All the ingredients come together with full flavor. I also roasted the jalapenos (about 6), used about half the amount of chicken broth and garnished with sour cream and fresh avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim-min-nim
Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States