Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! I followed the recipe exactly (including the ground cloves), and Hubs and I couldn't quit eating it. I wasn't able to find the 14.5 oz size can of red enchilada sauce, so I added the entire 20 oz. size can but don't feel that this changed the taste. I put everything in my slow cooker and cooked it on low for 6-7 hours, and it was PERFECT! Try Ken's recipe - you won't be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dojose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site. I make no changes to it and it turns out delicious every time. It does have a small kick, so for those of you sensitive to heat, I would be wary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
My 3rd or 4th batch is simmering on the stove as I type this. I try to follow the recipe as exactly as I can and it is delicious every time. It is so good, I have given a batch of it as a gift. The only ingredient substitutions I have made are: ** Pork sirloin roast works just as well as tenderloin, just trim the fat when you slice into cubes. Sirloin roasts usually seem to be cheaper. ** Grocery didn't have Poblano peppers, so I substitute with Pasilla peppers. ** Was out of fresh or chopped-in-a-jar garlic, so I used powdered. *I like the cilantro better as a topping instead of cooking it. *Half/half with yellow and white hominy, just because. It does make a huge pot of soup, but being that it is pretty labor-intensive, that makes it worth your while. It freezes and reheats perfectly, so that's what I do. Once it's cold in the fridge, it thickens up and I spoon it into foodsaver bags and freeze it in those. I think it is actually even more tasty reheated. Awesome recipe, Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Kicked butt and took names!!! Need some sliced radishes for garnish but did not have any!! Total "go to" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved it! Every one thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is fantastic. I made it like the recipe except I used canned chilis instead of roasted peppers simply because I couldn't find these peppers at the store. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was excelente! I doubled the recipe, except the onion and jalapeño, in order to use the 6lb can of hominy that I bought cheap. I also threw in about two cups of shredded chicken that I had pulled from a rotisserie chicken and was needing to be used. Mmmmm. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I had never made pasole or even really eaten any but I made this and it was EXCELLENT!!! I left out the cloves otherwise made the recipe exactly as written. I do make my own enchilada sauce - take a few handfuls of several different dried chilies (Hot chilies for a hotter sauce, mild chilies for a milder sauce) cut the stems off and break them into large pieces and cover them in water. Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes and puree with an emersion blender or in a regular blender. I have since tried this at my local Mexican restaurant. They serve theirs with sides of chopped cabbage (2 small handfuls), a couple tablespoons of chopped onion and some chopped cilantro (instead of adding it during the cooking process-keeps the flavor better?). I am going to add the above to my next batch when serving. EXCELLENT - this has become my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I had hoped for some extra to freeze, but after everyone got seconds there was none. The broth was wonderful. I had leftover Boston butt pork roast, so I started with the sautéing of the onions and garlic in a tbs of bacon grease, added all other ingredients, including chopped pork roast, and simmered for 30 minutes before adding hominy. Simmered another end 30 and voila! half the time but same deliciousness. (Did cheat with roasting poblanos. Used equivalent amount of jarred fire roasted green chilies, which gave some heat but not too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have never had posole before, but this recipe is DELICIOUS! The whole family loved it, right down to my 18-month old! I made it exactly according to the recipe and made lime and radish garnishes for it. We will definitely be making this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States