Ken's Kickin' Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Kicked butt and took names!!! Need some sliced radishes for garnish but did not have any!! Total "go to" recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Loved it! Every one thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is fantastic. I made it like the recipe except I used canned chilis instead of roasted peppers simply because I couldn't find these peppers at the store. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was excelente! I doubled the recipe, except the onion and jalapeño, in order to use the 6lb can of hominy that I bought cheap. I also threw in about two cups of shredded chicken that I had pulled from a rotisserie chicken and was needing to be used. Mmmmm. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I had never made pasole or even really eaten any but I made this and it was EXCELLENT!!! I left out the cloves otherwise made the recipe exactly as written. I do make my own enchilada sauce - take a few handfuls of several different dried chilies (Hot chilies for a hotter sauce, mild chilies for a milder sauce) cut the stems off and break them into large pieces and cover them in water. Simmer for 20 to 30 minutes and puree with an emersion blender or in a regular blender. I have since tried this at my local Mexican restaurant. They serve theirs with sides of chopped cabbage (2 small handfuls), a couple tablespoons of chopped onion and some chopped cilantro (instead of adding it during the cooking process-keeps the flavor better?). I am going to add the above to my next batch when serving. EXCELLENT - this has become my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was delicious! I had hoped for some extra to freeze, but after everyone got seconds there was none. The broth was wonderful. I had leftover Boston butt pork roast, so I started with the sautéing of the onions and garlic in a tbs of bacon grease, added all other ingredients, including chopped pork roast, and simmered for 30 minutes before adding hominy. Simmered another end 30 and voila! half the time but same deliciousness. (Did cheat with roasting poblanos. Used equivalent amount of jarred fire roasted green chilies, which gave some heat but not too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have never had posole before, but this recipe is DELICIOUS! The whole family loved it, right down to my 18-month old! I made it exactly according to the recipe and made lime and radish garnishes for it. We will definitely be making this again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Casual Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was a great soup!! I made it as is and topped it with radishes, cabbage, avocados, limes and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I've been looking for a posole recipe for a long time but now I've found the best. This is sooo good on a cold winter day, it just warms you from the inside. My neighbors are originally from Mexico so I thought I'd see how it stood up to the real test. They loved it and said I could fix it for them anytime. I've done both pork and chicken with pork being the favorite. I think the bacon and that little dash of clove puts this over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States