Kendra's Maid-Rite Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Really excellent flavor! I did increase the proportions of sauce ingredients because it was not as juicy as I liked. Several dashes of garlic powder (after tasting as is) made it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These didn't taste bad, but definitely not the "maid-rites" I was expecting. Maid-rites aren't supposed to be saucey as I know them. If these were called "Sloppy Joe's" I would give them a much better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Immediate Hit! Little resemblence to real Maid-Rites but a fantastic sandwich. Even better the next day. Must use mini buns to make 16 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
These sandwiches were good! Also very quick and easy, and made with ingredients that I have on hand... I used bison meat, and it worked well. In the instructions, "simmer" seemed a bit misleading to me. In my version there was very little liquid. So I just turned the burner down low for a few minutes after adding the ingredients. (So I made them even more quickly than I'd expected.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is quick and very good. I halved the recipe, since I only had a pound of hamburger, and followed the recipe exactly. I got just a small taste, as they were eaten up very quickly! Very sloppy joe-like, but different from the Manwich I typically use for a quick meal. Thanks Kendra :) ***UPDATE*** I made these again tonight, and once again, I only had one pound of hamburger. However, I forgot to halve the rest of the ingredients, and they still turned out great! Since they were extra sloppy, we used the potato chips I had made to go with it as scoops. This leads me to believe this would be great over mashed potatoes or wide noodles, for a nice change from buns :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I made these with one pound of ground chicken. I made the whole batch of sauce because I wasn't paying attention, but I think that was a good mistake to make. This is great on English muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were a nice change of pace from sloppy joes, but I don't know that anyone in my house would ever request them since my son didn't like them and my husband and daughter didn't say anything. I liked that the ingredients are something I always have on hand, but I had to almost double the sauce ingredients. When I got to the simmering part the meat tasted a little bland and was so void of liquid it wouldn't hold together. Afraid of it burning while it sat there for 20 minutes I threw in some more of each ingredient and added some garlic powder as well. I would make this again if I needed something to throw together, but I don't find myself serving it to company or adding it to my cooking repertoire on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was horrible! NOT again NOT a Maid Rite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Great recipe. I never heard them called "Maid-Rite" sandwiches. We call them Sloppy Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geribug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rixford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very easy and tasty. Made it without any changes and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States