Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Love this recipe, I did make a few changes, first I use minute rice to save time, I substitute Italian sausage for the ground beef. This adds a ton of flavor to the dish. I also add a can of itanlian chopped tomatoes and add a little cheese to the rice/meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These stuffed peppers are fantastic! Quick, easy, and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannon
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
What a great, basic recipe- I didn't find it to be bland at all. People who want more powerful flavors should simply add more spices. Delicious peppers and good leftovers, too. I served them with sourdough garlic bread. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I was torn between giving this either two or three stars. I opted for three because of the possibilities for this recipe. As is, they are very bland, but simply adding more garlic powder is not the answer. I can't quite put my finger on what is needed, but something sure is. Maybe even changing to a different cheese would help. I'll update if I figure it out, but it won't be for awhile. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
pretty good, i was just eating the filling straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I used 3 medium sized peppers so i reduce the filling slightly. Using 1lb of meat and maybe 2/3 cup of rice. I kept the amount of tomato sauce the same. It barely covered the meat and rice so i didn't simmer the mixture. It is really bland mix. I put a ton of spices in, (salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and chili powder) I just couldn't get it season enough for myself. My bf don't care for stuffed peppers to begin with thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My husband loves stuffed peppers and this is a great recipe. I also blanched the peppers instead of boiling, added 1/2 tsp of oregeno and used minced garlic. Instead of making the rice separate, I browned hamburger and onions, added petit diced tomatos and water along with a Tbsp of worchester sauce and spices and then cooked the rice with the rest of the mixture for 20 minutes (covered). I used cheddar and motzerella cheese for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I thought these had a decent flavor but they were excellent as leftovers. I've made them several times and my only complaint is that they are pretty dry when they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I agree with what a few others have said...the original recipe is a little bland. But that might be good if you have children who do not like spicy food! The second time I made this, I added in 1/2 tablespoon minced garlic to the rice when boiling and used 15 oz jar of pizza sauce when I realized I was out of tomato sauce. I also added a bit of cumin, and italian spices to the mix after it had simmered for 10 minutes. Also, I mixed 2 cups of mexican shredded cheese into the meat mixture after I let it cool for about 2 minutes, then I spooned it into the pepers and baked for 30 minutes. Everyone loved it, and even my very picky 9 yr old said it was even better than the first time we had it. I have a 2 and 3 yr old that are pretty picky about their food, and they even ate the peppers when the stuff inside was gone, that alone is worth an extra star to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This is a good basic pepper recipe, but I am giving it only 3 stars because of the stuffing to pepper ratio. Wow... a pound and a half of meat to three stuffed peppers? Those must be huge peppers! This actually makes enough stuffing for closer to six average sized peppers, so just beware. I also like using fresh garlic in mine and grated parmesan cheese on the top. With only tomato sauce it lacked some flavor, and maybe a couple tablespoons of tomato paste could round it up a notch. Otherwise a fairly good recipe and one that someone could add more things to.. like chiles, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States