Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Great recipe. I like to blanch the peppers beforehand in boiling water for about 15-20 minutes. I make this healthier by using quinoa instead of white rice, ground turkey OR lean meat, & spaghetti sauce (Dei Fratelli). I also use fresh garlic and add cooked red/orange peppers to the rice/meat/sauce mixture for extra veggies. I top the green peppers with tomato paste or sauce. I make a big batch of the rice/meat/sauce mixture so after filling the peppers I put the leftover mixture around the peppers & bake. voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisBedz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These are good with some adjustments. I only boiled the peppers for a few minutes, then ran them under cold water. I also used half tomato sauce from a can and half homemade spaghetti sauce, plus some Worcestershire in the meat mixture. I also added garlic to the rice water as another suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Ok, I've made this a couple of times now. I thought it was too dry with just the 1 can of tomato sauce and a little bland for my personal taste. I ended up putting the peppers in the oven to roast for maybe 5 min instead of boiling just because I didn't have room on my stove top and that worked just fine. Ended up baking 30 minutes and they were fine. The second time I used a full jar of spaghetti sauce instead of tomato. Wasn't crazy about the flavor so next time I'll just use higher amt of tomato sauce. I spiced it up more with 3 cloves of garlic, pepper flakes, and some cayenne pepper. I liked it with a little more heat but for kids would probably be better as written except for more tomato sauce. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
OMG this was so yummy!!!!First time to make stuffed green peppers and it now wont be the last.I used dice tomatoes instead of tomato sauce...Used lots of tex mex cheese with the meat and on top of green peppers..This is a keeper!!!Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I did the Green peppers whole, so the inside mix was way too much for just the peppers--I would halve it next time if you didn't want the extra. I just put the extra into the baking pan and it held the peppers up and was also great for my meat loving boyfriend. I only used 1.25 lbs of ground beef. Also I added Kelsey's corn side into the mixture--I used 2 cobs of corn. I replaced the tomato sauce with salsa. It is an awesome recipe that you can tweak so many ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
You will need to taste the filling and add or change as needed. You can stuff a pepper with anything, so I added some oregano and basil, extra salt and pepper. I ended up draining diced tomatoes instead of sauce because I didn't have sauce. I mixed some mozarella into the filling instead of just on top. I only boiled the peppers for a few minutes then dropped them in cold water to stop the cooking. Baking them for 30 minutes was plenty to cook the pepper all the way through. You will also want to make sure to not over-cook the rice. I boiled it just until done, mixed it with the rest of the filling but didn't cook it another 10 minutes. I just filled the peppers and baked-- which was plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Use a jar of marinara sauce and a can of undrained diced tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. Up the beef to 2 lbs. Then you can freeze half the filling in a quart Ziploc bag and use it next time to make these really quickly. Also you don't need to boil the peppers first. Makes them nasty soggy and wastes time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe. I only put the peppers in the boiling water for 5 minutes so they wouldn't be too tender. Also sauteed onions, diced peppers and 3 cloves garlic to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was delicious!! I used Johnsonville Italian sausage instead of ground beef and it came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Fabulous! I used tomato soup instead of tomato sauce and fresh minced garlic instead of powder. My family loved it xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States