Kelsey's Cheesy Bacon Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I thought this was pretty good and we will certainly make it again. I did make a few minor adjustments. We mixed the mustard and sauce together. I thought the mix tasted a little bland so I added a tsp of sugar and a heavy dash of garlic powder before coating the chicken. We skillet cooked the chicken in the bacon grease which cut down dramatically on the oven time. Only about 20 mins. in the oven after 10 mins. in the pan (and these were pretty large breasts). Like other reviewers, we waited till the last 10 mins. to add the cheese and bacon. In addition to keeping the cheese and bacon from over cooking, it allowed the sauce to crisp up on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
very tasty- my husband calls it heart attack chicken- but nonetheless eats every bite of it and goes back for seconds! I followed the notes and adjusted the bbq sauce it 1/4 cup and did not add the cheese or bacon until the last ten minutes. I did cook the chicken on the stove first like the directions stated. will make again and might try other sauces like A-1??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
WOW! This seems so simple - but the flavor was so good. We had baked potatoes with it and I really felt like it was the best meal I have had for a long time. The flavors were so great together. I didn't make any changes. Please try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I have been trying different chicken recipes because at the age of 60 I am sick of everything I have cooked for the past 40 years! This one is a little too much fat for me but it was ok for a change. My grandaughter thought it was great. For her it had all the best food groups, chicken, barbeque sauce, cheese and bacon! Makes me gain weight just thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I thought this recipe was ok. I made it last night for my husband who said he was tired of the same thing. I wasnt really a fan of the mustard, I thought the recipe would have been just fine with bbq sauce. Maybe trying different bbq sauces would be best, like honey bbq or smokey bbq. If i make this again ill probably omit the mustard. I did like that this recipe was easy and I think the browning of the chicken beforehand just dirties another dish so its not reallly necessary. Also I didnt add the cheese and bake it in the oven, instead I took it out of the oven placed a slice of cheddar on each breast then put foil over the top while I made my side dish. It melted the cheese perfectly. Overall a good dish and something different to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This recipe was a tasty easy dinner! I made a few changes though...I don't really like regular mustard so I used 1/2 honey mustard, 1/2 BBQ Sauce mixed together. Topped it off with the sauce mixture, precooked bacon strips and let it bake for 20 minutes before putting shredded cheese on for the last 10. I had to use Mozzarella (didn't have any cheddar) but the results were still great! My toughest critic approved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is by far the best recipe I've used in quite a while. I would recommend that you at least partially cook the bacon. I didn't cook it at all before I put it on the chicken and it was a little under cooked for me. I didn't pre-cook the chicken prior to baking and let me tell you...this is the BEST chicken!! I honestly, cut my chicken breast with a fork!! Very juicy and very moist...EXCELLENT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
My husband loved the chicken, and he doen't give out too many compliments! It was wonderful and moist and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Very good! I've cooked this twice; once cooking the bacon before placing it on the chicken, then for the second time I just wrapped the bacon around the breast and let it cook in the oven. The second time was much better because the bacon didn't taste burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
5 Stars all the way. Delicious and sooooo easy to make. I used chicken tenders and used one slice of bacon cut in half for each. I cooked them in a pan as the recipe called for and then they only took 20 minutes uncovered to cook perfectly. The last 2-3 minutes I put them under the broiler set on low to crispen the edges of bacon and make the cheese all bubbly and gooey. Served with simple mashed potatoes. A definite winnder. Next time I'll likely serve a lighter side like some sort of salad or steamed veggies. I think the potatoes were a little to heavy for this heavy of a main dish. Great recipe. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States