Kelsandra's Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by karatemom
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Really liked this as an alternative to a traditional cinnamon roll. Used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make the dough, and needed to add a bit more flour to get the right texture. (this sometimes happens with any yeast dough recipe) Jazzed it up by adding chopped walnuts and dried cranberries to the filling. I let it rise a second time before baking and used a larger jelly roll pan. I made a simple confectioners sugar, vanilla, and milk drizzle icing instead of using the cream cheese frosting listed. Missed the cinnamon "taste" and will add that to filling in the next batch I make. I agree with some other reviews, a bit of salt might also be needed and will give that a try in the dough ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe's directions exactly and these did not turn out well. They seemed very doughy and my husband and I both ended up with stomach aches. Not sure if the problem was on my part or on the recipe's, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I didn't have room to roll these out to full size, so I can't imagine just how big they turn out if you do. I halved the dough and rolled out twice - both times to almost 20" diameter in each direction. I ended up with 24 rolls (12 per pan that started out with space between the rolls, filled in while baking) that are sort of pyramid shaped. The centers rose higher than the edges, and they only took about 20 minutes to cook. I am pleased, however, that I was actually able to get the dough to rise at high elevation (7220). I decreased yeast to 2 tsp. in hopes that would work. I, too, required the addition of almost 2 more cups of flour than specified, but I attributed that to my use of pumpkin butter instead of canned pumpkin (we were out). The dough does seem to lack something - maybe salt like others suggested. I added more cinnamon to the filling, as I was really hoping for a stronger cinnamon flavor. I think by the time they're iced and set before a table of college age young men at a brunch, they'll still be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I'm not that great at making bread anything but these came out good on my first try, so i will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vshultz0991

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Yum! We love pumpkin baked goods and these are delicious! My 7-year old said, "If there were 30 stars, I would give them 30 stars!" I did have to use almost 6 cups of flour but this is a really nice dough to work with and the flavor is great. I was glad that they didn't have to rise again afther shaping and cutting them - it didn't seem to matter, as they came out great! And so easy, too!! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good! I accidentally added too much milk in the beginning so I had to add too much flour...I can't wait to try them again correctly because they were great even with my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khall517

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These rolls were EXCELLENT! A nice hybrid between cinnamon rolls & pumpkin bread. However, I must admit, the amount of icing wasn't nearly enough for my mother's or my sweet tooth, so we doubled up on the frosting, but SOOOO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
WOW! I just had to make a batch for my husband to take to work because he has been raving about them to everyone! There is not an overt Pumpkin flavor, but you can taste the pie spice and it is wonderful and different. I recommend doing the cook's note and letting them sit 30 min before baking. Not much longer though because the butter/cinnamon will start to leak out. So easy to make and these are even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I like this recipe, but it needs salt or it tastes flat. I used a teaspoon and it tasted better. They are good though, I got raves about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Made these for thanksgiving morning, and it was a definite crowd pleaser. I added more cream cheese because of family preference. Awesome recipe,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

These amazing homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls are scary delicious.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States