Kelly's Slow Cooker Beef, Mushroom, and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Smelled great but lot of timely prep and ingredients for a bland, "muddy" tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have made this beef barley soup many,many times and we love it...did cut down barley to 3/4 cup. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I don't usually add reviews but I think this is a good recipe but needs to have less barley. It was very starchy. I would do everything the same but with half the barley. It smelled delicious all day but was a little disappointing when I didn't need a spoon. I will try it again but with half the barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
UPDATE: after writing my original review my husband and I heated the leftovers up for lunch and ended up throwing it away. It had a very weird almost slimy texture to it. Maybe the barley breaking down a bit too much overnight. Very unpleasant. I'd possibly make this again (with changes) but definitely not save any leftovers. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Made this yesterday and my family thought it was ok. If I make it again I'll add some spices or heavily season the beef and then sear first to add more flavor. I would also add celery. I found the recipe as written to be tasty but a bit bland. I'll make it again with subtle changes and see how it goes. It sure made the kitchen smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyPancakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was very flavorful. I did not use the barley-I cooked it and rice on the side (I loathe barley) and let everyone add what the wanted and how much. There is no need to change a thing. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Trap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We thought the barley was overpowering. Very boring taste. Followed the recipe- only addition was some red wine which didn't help. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really loved having this on the counter. Smelled so good! Tasted even better. Added a lot of celery for extra chunks. Two bay leaves are important to the taste of this dish. Pearl barley was so delicious to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious! I used tomato sauce, exactly like the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States