Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
No colour to it. I got six servings. Zero taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paddy Landreville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
super yummy! i used potato starch and made it in the Thermomix (add all ingredients, cooked on 90degrees for 9 minutes, at speed 3 with whisk attachment)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This pudding is rich and creamy! It is also a little on the sweet side. I substituted for the milk a combination of 3/4 unsweetened coconut milk and 1/4 coconut cream to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
It is OK, but way too sweet for me. Next time I will try putting in 2/3 cup of sugar, instead of the recommended 1 cup. I also might rely a little more heavily on extra egg yolk, and cut back a bit on the corn starch, because I can taste the cornstarch. The consistency is nice. It didn't get a rubbery skin on it like the chocolate and vanilla pudding recipes I have used, which some people might like. I think that is probably due to the butter in the recipe. I think this would be better with something, like maybe in a bread pudding, or as a topping for some kind of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Fabulous. If you remember butterscotch pudding from your childhood, you have to try this. I used whole milk, real butter and regular brown sugar. My daughter has celiac disease so it is a great gluten free dessert for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wow! So good! I was out of vanilla extract so I used almond extract and it was still amazing! I don't even know if I want to try making it with vanilla as this was just so good. Easy and fast, and I already had everything in my house. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
My dad absolutely loves butterscotch anything so I thought I'd take a whack at some pudding. Upon making the pudding following every ingredient I came upon some conclusions. 1.Too sugary 2. Dark brown sugar is really needed to get a true butterscotch flavor 3.The way my dad goes through pudding his arteries are going to clog in mere hours of eating all that butter. So batch 2 I made it with 2/3 cup brown sugar, added a shot of spiced golden rum (I prefer rum to scotch) ,and only used 2 tablespoons of butter. The results were much better in terms of depth of flavor. Other variations I've done using light brown sugar and 1/4 cup butter toasted pecans to get a butter pecan pudding (just add in with butter and brown sugar at beginning). You could also get a really yummy peanut butter pudding by using the light brown sugar and 2 tablespoons peanut butter added around the end. This could also easily be a caramel pudding if you desired by using regular white sugar and butter until it begins to bubble then slowly adding in a couple tablespoons of cream (because curdling sucks and caramel is so temperamental ) then adding the milk &ect. Overall really yummy though !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Tastes like the box pudding, only richer! It was delightful served warm with a squirt of rediwhip on top! I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
It was gritty, to sweet, edible, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois McQueen Blackburn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was good. I used half dark brown and half light brown sugar. and cut it back to 3/4 cup. Next time I'll try with all dark brown sugar to give it a richer flavour. 3/4 cup was perfect, it would've been way to sweet without it. I also mixed the sugar mixture with the cold milk and cooked it together instead of boiling the milk first. It got super thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States