Kelly's Apple Cocoa Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
to dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
So delicious and moist! Truly no icing needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Very yummy! I have made this cake a few times and my family and friends love it! I have even substituted the apple for a reduced amount of fresh pineapple and it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I absolutely love this cake. I did omit the allspice, though. Otherwise...delicious. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkiuhas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Really tasty! I diced the apples instead of shredding them, and it turned out just fine that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Very moist, almost too moist. Recommend small chucks of apple for strong apple flavor. Also recommend added extra cocoa, and perhaps a chocolate frosting, or some chocolate chips in the mix for the chocolate lovers in the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This cake is very very good. Make sure you let it cool completely in the pan on a rack before trying to unmold it. Loosen the cake in the pan with a knife and place a plate over the pan, then flip it over and tap a little on the bottom of the pan. Some of the chocolate chips stuck to the bottom of the pan, I just stuck them back on the top of the cake lol. I made a simple glaze out of powdered sugar, cinnamon, and milk and it was a great addition. This cake is very moist and delicious, although I don't know about calling it a "chocolate" cake, it tastes more like a spice cake with a little chocolate in it. Either way, the flavor and texture is great. Don't unmold while still warm!!! It will crumble and fall apart. This one is staying in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very moist cake with a nice texture. I just didn't like the taste of apples and chocolate together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I tried this once, and when I saw that it was loved by everyone...I make it it all the time. At least once a week, so there is always a little piecr to grab :-) I pretty well followed the recipe as written, although I did add 2 more apples, to try and get a more 'apple-y' taste. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is absolutely delicious, moist and not too rich! A great way to use extra apples and chocolate that's sitting around. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States