KELLOGG'S* RICE KRISPIES* Peanut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was the best treat I have eaten with rice krispies thus far !!! Ther was a party in my tummy ....soooo YUMMY....sooo YUMMY! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissaluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Never, NEVER add water to chocolate chips when you're melting them. It's like mixing oil and water. It turns the chocolate into a fudge-like consistency and there is no way of re-liquifying it. In fact, be careful to not let water come into contact with the chocolate chips at all. I wasted 3 cups of chocolate chips following this recipe's instructions. Take my advice and just add butter or shortening to the chocolate chips to thin out the chocolate. That's what I did with my second batch of chocolate chips and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I did not care for this! I am not sure if I went wrong somewhere maybe because i used skippy peanut butter instead of kraft but it was not good, I just finished it and cant even stand the smell. It tastes like the skins off the peanut and just was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe is pretty good. Don't add cold water while heating chocolate or it congeals, as I found out. You can un-congeal it by adding boiling water to it in small amounts until it becomes liquid again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was pretty tasty. I did not put cold water in the chocolate and it worked well. But there was A LOT of rice krispies, so I added more of the other ingredients and it turned out to be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was good, but not great. The flavor was kind of meh, and I used amazing peanut butter. I agree with everyone to not use water when melting the chocolate. I didn't attempt it with this recipe but I've failed before because I made that mistake. It might work if you do it *just* right, but why risk it? I think I prefer regular RK treats drizzled in chocolate to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talkn3rdytome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
NEVER, NEVER, NEVER add water to your chocolate if you are going to use it to coat! It will not set up correctly - will not set hard and will stay sticky. ALWAYS use an shortening, butter or oil (sparingly) to get your chocolate to the desired consistency! Other than that...these are okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I lost my tried and true recipe... so I found this one. I made it twice, as I thought I made a mistake the first time. waste of time and ingredients. it does not make a good ball because the recipe calls for more rice kris pies than is needed. " To make the rolling of balls easier, use lightly dampened hands." My hands needed to be SOAKED to make the balls. As other reviewers have stated.... Never add water to chocolate. I knew that and added Gulf Wax. :D That was the only easy thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States