Kellogg's® Chocolate Scotcheroos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
A great recipe which I've made since I was a kid (40+ years ago!) Some tips - just let the sugar/corn syrup mixture come to a light boil and get it off the heat. Also, don't press it tightly into the pan because it will be too hard to bite and too hard to cut into squares. I always cut mine in the pan immediately after putting the melted chips on top; otherwise it is more difficult after it is set. I hope you enjoy these as much as my family and I have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are a family favorite. I make these every year at Christmas. In fact, I make several batches. For the people that say they are hard as a brick, you are cooking the sugar/corn syrup mixture too long. All you are supposed to be doing is bringing it to a boil and then get it off of the heat. Also, don't pack them hard into the pan, just lightly press and smooth them out. These are in no way hard as a rock. They are chewy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've made this recipe for the past 25 years....and called it Special K Bars...as they used to be made with Special K cereal when the flakes used to be smaller! Now I use rice krispies. I heat the syrup and sugar in a big tupperware bowl in the microwave for about 90 seconds, add the peanut butter, and stir in the krispies. I use a much larger pan---12x17 sheet pan--as my daycare kids like them MUCH thinner--and they are easier to cut into 1x1 squares! After frosting with the melted chips, I decorate each square w/ an M&M of the current season--red and green for X-mas, etc! Always a hit...and so easy to have all the ingredients on hand for a quick & easy treat to mix up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I read about these bars on the recipe exchange... wow, they're delicious! My son says he likes them better than marshmallow rice crispy treats and those were always his favorite. I would just suggest cutting them while still warm because they're difficult to cut when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are very good. A great snack to take to coworkers at Christmas...A hint for expert cook Mickey. You always melt chocolate either in the microwave by zapping for 1 min on med and stir and repeat until smooth or in another pan over a pot of simmered water, stirring until smooth. Chocolate burns and clumps very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I have been eating this since I was a little girl, and they are so good! I always make sure I keep some at home before taking them to a potluck or picnic because there are never any leftovers! It's important to cook the sugar and syrup just until a boil to make sure they stay nice and soft. I also sometimes add about a teaspoon or two of butter or shortening to the chocolate/butterscotch topping to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
these are awsome....I must say through trial and error they are now perfect. I always let the sugars boil and they would turn out rock hard. The key is to heat the syrup and sugar on medium low heat and watch it for a good 7 minutes until the sugar starts to dissolve. I dont even let it come to a boil....almost though. Take it off the heat and add peanut butter and krispies. I then layer with chocolate chips and throw under a hot broil for about 1 minute and spread the melted chips over top. turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Rich and very sweet, but so tasty. Easy to make. I am only giving 4 stars because I think next time I might omit the butterscotch chips and double the choco chips.....I know these are "scotcheroos" not "choco-roos", but I think I just like the whole peanut butter/chocolate combo better. Will make again and maybe change it up a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I have always made this recipe using Special K cereal instead of the rice krispies. These bars are a hit whenever I make them. Everyone loves them! They're easy and quick to make and great to make in the summer because you don't have to turn the oven on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this recipe is absolutely awesome, it doesnt take long, the items to make are easy to come by, and its delicious! I did however have to add half and half to the chocolate while it was in the saucepan in order for it to become smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States