Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rhonda Jay
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
This is such a delicious zucchini alternative. I did not top with the motzerella and served it with ranch instead of spaghetti sauce and they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I like this shape more than the "fries" style, no left overs and I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Good, but a dusting of flour before the egg works better and helps to keep the breading on the zucchini while frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
It was OK, but a little too much. Try slicing them length ways, brushing a little olive oil on both sides, sprinkle parmesan cheese on them and bake them at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, then broil them for 4-5 minutes until they are golden brown. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Made this just like it was presented - AWESOME! My husband and I devoured 2 medium zucchinis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
I have made deep fried Zucchini for years and I use tupperware bowls with tops - but my variations are: I agree that the zucchini needs to be 1/4" thick or it will be too soggy) then I add them to milk and let it soak just a few minutes, then to a bowl of flower, salt and pepper (shake it good so the zucchini is covered in it), then add them to egg mixture (again, shake the bowl), then add to italian bread crumbs (last shake guys). I put them in a deep fat fryer 350 degrees until brown (not too long or zucchini will be soggy and not too soon or zucchini will be too hard). I then use ranch dressing instead of spaghetti sauce. My mother was not much of a cook but my grandmom, she was awesome. Only problem was she never measured. She called it "guestimating". Thank you for bringing this recipe to the forefront of my mind - I haven't made these in forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This was an awesome idea for either an appetizer or a side dish. I did not fry the zucchini, as I hate to add the extra fat. Instead, I used seasoned Panko bread crumbs for the breading mix and added 1/2 tsp garlic salt & italian seasoning to the crumb mix. I dunked the thinly sliced zucchini in egg, then the crumb mix & laid slices out flat on a baking sheet. I baked the breaded slices in a convection toaster oven at 400 F for 8 minutes per side. I did not add the mozzarella, as I did not think it needed it & I didn't want a soggy texture. They were nice, golden & crispy & I served with a nice marinara...nobody used the marinara (they were delicious just plain). Wonderful new addition to my recipe box...thx Kelli!!! 5/14/15 EDIT: I just made these again as described above, only used egg whites instead of egg & they were even lower fat with minimal change in flavor. I served these with a creamy horseradish sauce & couldn't stop eating them...delicious combination of flavors...thx Kelli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This is an excellent recipe! I have made it many times, but never tried frying it. I always bake it in the oven. But either way is fine because I will use the olive oil no matter what, if by using it to fry or spraying the cookie sheet with olive oil cooking spray. But one idea hit me as I was beginning to make these again: instead of using as a possible side dish or snack, why not make it into a PANINI SANDWICH... Once you're done cooking the zucchini, heat up ur Panini Press, using the bread of your choice, layer some of the fried zucchini on the bread, top the zucchini with the spaghetti sauce or even roasted red peppers and then the mozerrella cheese then top that with other piece of bread. Spray the Pannini Press lightly with olive oil cooking spray (*Note: spray the Pannini press prior to heating). Once Press is heated, put Pannini sandwich on grill, put down other end of press on top of sandwich and grill it until cheese melts and sauce is heated through and to the doneness of how you like your bread... There you go! A nice Fried Zucchini Pannini Sandwich to serve as a meal for lunch using Kelli's recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These were delicious, but they take forever to cycle through each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made these using panko breadcrumbs that i seasoned myself,(the pre-seasoned store-bought crumbs had too many scary ingredients in the list so i went the healthy route) Any way it turned out great. Good way to use up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States