Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jana's
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This is an excellent recipe! I have made it many times, but never tried frying it. I always bake it in the oven. But either way is fine because I will use the olive oil no matter what, if by using it to fry or spraying the cookie sheet with olive oil cooking spray. But one idea hit me as I was beginning to make these again: instead of using as a possible side dish or snack, why not make it into a PANINI SANDWICH... Once you're done cooking the zucchini, heat up ur Panini Press, using the bread of your choice, layer some of the fried zucchini on the bread, top the zucchini with the spaghetti sauce or even roasted red peppers and then the mozerrella cheese then top that with other piece of bread. Spray the Pannini Press lightly with olive oil cooking spray (*Note: spray the Pannini press prior to heating). Once Press is heated, put Pannini sandwich on grill, put down other end of press on top of sandwich and grill it until cheese melts and sauce is heated through and to the doneness of how you like your bread... There you go! A nice Fried Zucchini Pannini Sandwich to serve as a meal for lunch using Kelli's recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
These were delicious, but they take forever to cycle through each slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I made these using panko breadcrumbs that i seasoned myself,(the pre-seasoned store-bought crumbs had too many scary ingredients in the list so i went the healthy route) Any way it turned out great. Good way to use up zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Put them on top of spaghetti. A1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I've been meaning to try this for a week. After a visit to the local farmer's market, I finally got around to try preparing this recipe. I'm not a huge fan of zucchini, but wow, this was great and surprisingly filling. It could easily be a main course. The presentation is nice also; I did add sprigs of fresh basil for color. I also baked instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Tried this recipe last night and it was outstanding! I used yellow squash and zucchini and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. Other than those changes, everything else was the same. The squash was crispy and well seasoned. Husband says it's a keeper. Will definitely make again! Kudos to Kelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. They really don't need the cheese and tomato sauce but they are good both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I really enjoy this awesome recipe, especially the zucchini is fresh from the garden and the taste is just melting in your mouth, hmmp is so delicious. Thank you all recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I fry "zooks" all season long, using your recipe and sometimes my own but I always fry using saved bacon grease, I never have enough bacon grease to fry with, so I save every drop until I get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Prissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States