Kelaguen Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I grill my chicken for better flavor and add more peppers and green onions to the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
OMG!!Im so happy to see a recipe on here from Guam we need to put more out there so everyone knows our food.LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I am Guamanian so kelaguen is present at any family reunion we have. i love it. but my family adds green onions and red chili pepper flakes and we dont use the coconut. i think its better this way. serve with Chamorro style red rice and finadene and any meat of your choice and you've got the average Chamorro meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udjat520
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe produces a great kelaguen. I usually bake seasoned chicken breasts and thighs in the oven and it still turns out good. Remove the skin from the thigh and leave the crispy parts of the breast skin on when you dice the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Although grilled on a barbecue is best, chicken roasted on a spit at the local supermarket isn't all that bad, either. I also use chopped green onion for essential flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
My family is from Guam and this is not kelaguen to me. The chicken should only be barbecued after being marinated in soy sauce, lemon, garlic and onions. After it has been grilled and finely cut, then you flavor it with green onions, salt, lemon, red pepper (i like it spicy) and coconut. I usually cut out the coconut when I make it for myself. This is great if you are watching your weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
If you live near an Asian market try to find Yours brand lemon powder, it makes all the difference. If you want your kalguen dry then sprinkle it in powder form, if you want the kelaguen more on the wet side then mix the lemon powder in water then combine with the other indgredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I'm lazy so I broil boneless/skinless chicken thighs for this dish. Adding sliced scallions makes for a tastier dish, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
My husband is from guam. This nothing like the other Kelaguen, I have ever tasted. Cheap immation of the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I would love to see more recipes from Guam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States