Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I, too made it using ground beef and thought it was very good. My family was not crazy about it however, so probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish. I took the recommendations of the others and added the cumin, coriander, ginger, chili powder, cinnamon as well as the potatoes and peas. I didn't add the curry only because I was out of it. Next time I make this, I will definitely try it with the curry. I made it with basmati white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
i gave this 4 stars but as an indian, it was still so bland for me! and hubby & i like food to be super flavorful. so what i did, i added 1/4 spn turmeric, 1 1/2 spns corriander pwder, 1/4 spn ginger garlic paste, 2 spns garlic powder, 1/2 chicken cube, dash of oregano, little ketchup and 2 1/2 spns of montreal chicken seasoning, red chili pwder and dash of red pepper flakes, and voila, it came out super duper tasty! once it's all cooked up nicely, i grind it to make the texture softer for the kids. ground beef now becomes very tender instead of rough meat. kids will love! ok, im sure indians are going to say this now NOT keema, lol, but for those of you who find this recipe bland, this is the way to spruce it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Tasty, but I definitely added extra spices; cumin, ground coriander, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Caution!!! Very spicy! Tastes great but is definitely not for the faint of taste buds. Next time I will cut the garam masala in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good recipe, however i took others advice, and added a cinnamon stick, 2 cardamon pods, coriander powder, cumin, and chopped up some jalapenos for some added spice. I also used only 1 heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. It came out wonderful, I will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My family is Desi, and to make this the traditional pakistani way, use ground beef. Also, we add potatoes that cook in the broth. It always has peas in it traditionally. Also, it is missing cumin (this is a MAJOR ingredient in keema) as well as a couple cinnamon sticks and some cloves. We have never eaten this with Raita, usually with some parathas or pooris over basmati rice. This is like the desi meatloaf recipe: lazy night cooking, as it is super quick and easy. You don't usually find this in a restaurant because it is so simple, but it is the simple dishes that evoke the most memories. I love this dish. Also, I would not add curry powder to this, but it does not matter what you add I guess, it just does not traditionally have it. And it is the cinnamon that brings out the heat (spicy-ness) in the dish so it is a critical ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe helped me achieve the tastier ground meat that I've ever cooked myself! Since I live alone and don't have many ingredients in my tiny kitchen, I substituted garam masala for Italian Seasoning and instead of beef broth I poured a small bag of Latin American Sofrito into the skillet. Guess the results are not Indian at all but very yummy nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyboza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this with ground sirloin (my grocery store doesn't carry ground lamb, unfortunately), and it was very flavorful! Served with Nan or rice and a vegetable, this makes a fabulous main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So I had to make a lot of changes to this one that's why I only gave it 3stars. I used about 1 lb of lean ground beef. I used 2.5 tablespoons of Garam Masala, .25 tsp cumin, .25 tsp coriander, a dash of curry powder, and a little chipotle chile pepper to taste. I also added about a cup of diced potatoes. I left out the tomato, but kept the other ingredients. I served it with warm whole wheat pita bread. It was really good, and even better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States