Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My wife made this and I had it for breakfast mixed in with mashed pototoes and scrambled eggs, OMG so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Antrim, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was a very good recipe that my whole family enjoyed. I put this over noodles because my two oldest boys don't care for rice that much, but I personally think it would be better over rice. No big deal though, and certainly nothing that changes the taste of the sauce. I did not have enough garam masala so I made my own using 2t coriander, 3t cumin, 1t cinnamon, 2t ginger, and 1t black pepper. If you need a quick inexpensive meal this is a good one to try. I am looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thank you, ajr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is very good and an unusual dish for me. I followed directions exactly - yet added additional broth to the recipe. Spicy and Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I took the suggestions and added coriander, cinnamon stick, chili powder, and cumin. Also threw in the peas and used a little more broth. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Had all ingredients in the house when I found your website. Made it that night, followed suggestions in the reviews--dbl beef broth, more garam masala, cumin, ginger, turmeric, curry powder, etc. Also added a can of garbanzo beans & peas. It was Great!!!! Everyone had seconds!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I was looking for a quick and dirty recipe that involved the use of garam masala and ground beef. This one fit the bill. Four stars because I believe it would have been bland without the spices I used suggested by other reviewers. My recipe used a package of ground beef, 2.5 tablespoons garam masala, a teaspoon of salt, a dash of coriander, cayenne pepper, cumin and cinnamon. I ground the coriander myself. Then I mixed in the onion, garlic, beef broth and tomato paste as suggested. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal and I'll be keeping it around for future use. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe was excellent and super easy! Based on the previous reviews I made the following modifications: used ground beef instead of lamb, only used 1.5 TBS garam masala, added 1/2 tsp. curry and 1/2 tsp. cumin, added 1 can of chick peas, used 5 tsp. of tomato paste, used 1 cup beef broth. Served over jasmine rice and it was fantastic! Excited to have found a new ground beef recipe for the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I really like this dish! I did less than half of my garam masala substitute and it was still spicy, so do add a little at a time while tasting as you go to ensure you don't over do it! A great inspiration recipe that you can add to if you desire, which is what I did. I took the author's advice and added veggies: frozen mix of peas, carrots, corn & green beans, sweet potatoes, celery & cauliflower serving it with buckwheat instead of rice. I substituted and added other ingredients according to what I didn't have, etc: ground beef instead of lamb, 1/2 packet of onion soup mix instead of onion, 1.5 tsp Chana Dal masala instead of 2 Tbsp garam masala & added 1.5 Tbsp yellow curry (I cannot handle hot spice, hence the decrease), 1/4 tsp sea salt (reduced salt due to type & using onion soup mix), increased tomato paste to 5.5 fl oz can adding 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup whole milk (due to increased volume of dish b/c of added veggies, & to help reduce spiciness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
As a base for a recipe this is a good start. I also did as others suggested, adding cumin, clove, curry powder and peas. Made for a tasty, fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States