Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Since we raise sheep, I am always looking for lamb recipes. This was really good poured over puff pastry shells! I spiced it up a tad with some red pepper. This is a recipe I will include with any freezer lambs we sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Didn't have ground lamb, so used ground turkey as one reviewer suggested. It was very good. Very easy to prepare. Nice, different, quick way to cook ground meat. We enjoyed it with jasmine rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Used lean ground beef, was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
so very good! we don't eat lamb, so i substituted ground beef, and it turned out delicious. my modifications: i added a teaspoon of curry powder, and dashes of coriander and cumin. also, a bit of cayenne for a little heat; to us, indian food needs it! also doubled the beef broth so it would be more "saucy", and added about a cupful of frozen peas with the beef broth. simmered for about 10 minutes, and it was perfect! served over basmati rice, with nann and raita on the side. my fiance raved, said it was better than any meal he'd had in an indian restaurant. a true keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was just GREAT!! Easy to make and my kids loved it. Added peas and one little sprinkle of curry powder, increased the broth as well. Will defintiely make this again :) Thanks for the additon to our ground beef rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was delicious. I did not have ground lamb so used lean ground beef. I used the cooked mixture as a filling for rolls. Although DH thought it was a bit dry after reheating, the taste was still spicy and great. I definitely will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Very tasty dish. A "keeper." I didn't have tomato paste, so used tomato sauce...worked well. Served with Basmati rice, Raita, and garbanzo beans. Didn't need anything else for us. K.B. Denning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
THANK YOU!!! This tastes just like a dish I tried from a Pakistani woman and had asked her for, but never received the recipe. The only thing its missing is a little ginger, which I will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I make this all the time, and the trick is to add more garam masala than the recipe calls for, and also add a little coriander and cumin. Also add a splash of water and let simmer for some time, keeping adding water to prevent drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I didn't have lamb or beef broth, so I used ground beef and chicken broth. It was really easy and even though didn't look so great, the taste was really good. Everyone at the table (about 10 pple)loved it! Most of us ate it over rice. It was great! thnx for the recipe!Also thanx to cheepchick who recommended it to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States