Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i'm indian and we make keema quite often. we mostly make it with beef or mutton. i think it needs more spices like jeera(cumin), dhania(coriander) and if you want it spicy maybe some chilli powder(i like my food extra hot!).add a couple of cinnamon sticks for a lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
It is very good with peas and rice, but needs raitha (whipped yogurt with cukes and other veggies) to really bring out the flavor. It makes a nice pita filling when paired with grilled veggies. For a healthier option, it is just as tasty made with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
so very good! we don't eat lamb, so i substituted ground beef, and it turned out delicious. my modifications: i added a teaspoon of curry powder, and dashes of coriander and cumin. also, a bit of cayenne for a little heat; to us, indian food needs it! also doubled the beef broth so it would be more "saucy", and added about a cupful of frozen peas with the beef broth. simmered for about 10 minutes, and it was perfect! served over basmati rice, with nann and raita on the side. my fiance raved, said it was better than any meal he'd had in an indian restaurant. a true keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My family is Desi, and to make this the traditional pakistani way, use ground beef. Also, we add potatoes that cook in the broth. It always has peas in it traditionally. Also, it is missing cumin (this is a MAJOR ingredient in keema) as well as a couple cinnamon sticks and some cloves. We have never eaten this with Raita, usually with some parathas or pooris over basmati rice. This is like the desi meatloaf recipe: lazy night cooking, as it is super quick and easy. You don't usually find this in a restaurant because it is so simple, but it is the simple dishes that evoke the most memories. I love this dish. Also, I would not add curry powder to this, but it does not matter what you add I guess, it just does not traditionally have it. And it is the cinnamon that brings out the heat (spicy-ness) in the dish so it is a critical ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This was really good. I would have given it 5 stars, but I had to make adjustments to it otherwise it would have been on the blander side. I took the advice of others and added 1 tsp extra garam masala, 1tsp curry powder, 1tsp cumin, 1tsp ginger, a tad extra salt, 1c of peas and doubled the broth. i used ground turkey because that's what i had on hand and it was still great! this is the easiest and tastiest meal. loved it cos i had all the ingredients on hand and anything that i didnt have could easily be substituted!!! try it- you will be happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I make this all the time, and the trick is to add more garam masala than the recipe calls for, and also add a little coriander and cumin. Also add a splash of water and let simmer for some time, keeping adding water to prevent drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I made all the changes others recommended,(peas, potatoes, ginger,cumin,extra garam masala, double the broth, curry etc..) plus added a chile pepper to give it a kick. It was delicious! Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Since we raise sheep, I am always looking for lamb recipes. This was really good poured over puff pastry shells! I spiced it up a tad with some red pepper. This is a recipe I will include with any freezer lambs we sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Caution!!! Very spicy! Tastes great but is definitely not for the faint of taste buds. Next time I will cut the garam masala in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this with ground sirloin (my grocery store doesn't carry ground lamb, unfortunately), and it was very flavorful! Served with Nan or rice and a vegetable, this makes a fabulous main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States