Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
It is very good with peas and rice, but needs raitha (whipped yogurt with cukes and other veggies) to really bring out the flavor. It makes a nice pita filling when paired with grilled veggies. For a healthier option, it is just as tasty made with ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Didn't have ground lamb, so used ground turkey as one reviewer suggested. It was very good. Very easy to prepare. Nice, different, quick way to cook ground meat. We enjoyed it with jasmine rice and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Very flavorful. This seems to be a very adaptable dish. I used about 1 lbs of ground chuck since that's what I had dethawed the night before. Didn't have any beef stock so I used chicken stock instead. I think this made it a bit salty so next time I'll just use water. Served it with cous-cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Very tasty dish. A "keeper." I didn't have tomato paste, so used tomato sauce...worked well. Served with Basmati rice, Raita, and garbanzo beans. Didn't need anything else for us. K.B. Denning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Since we raise sheep, I am always looking for lamb recipes. This was really good poured over puff pastry shells! I spiced it up a tad with some red pepper. This is a recipe I will include with any freezer lambs we sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Used lean ground beef, was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
THANK YOU!!! This tastes just like a dish I tried from a Pakistani woman and had asked her for, but never received the recipe. The only thing its missing is a little ginger, which I will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I'm not sure about this one. It has a very different "floral" taste (from the Garam masala). After tasting, I added ginger, as suggested by one reviewer. Maybe it is one of those flavors you need to acquire a taste for, or already be familiar with. ? Plus, I do not know what to do with it. I wanted to stuff a pepper with it, or something. It seemed too dry to put over rice or noodles. My creativitity is at a standstill on this one. I am not sure what veggies, etc. would COMPLIMENT this unique flavor. Any suggestions would be appreciated, because I made a double batch and will have to freeze half. I wish I had a recipe for the "raitha" one reviewer said they added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Yum! I'm actually enjoying it as I type. Now that I know how it turns out I'll try adding additional flavors that other reviews recommended. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
so very good! we don't eat lamb, so i substituted ground beef, and it turned out delicious. my modifications: i added a teaspoon of curry powder, and dashes of coriander and cumin. also, a bit of cayenne for a little heat; to us, indian food needs it! also doubled the beef broth so it would be more "saucy", and added about a cupful of frozen peas with the beef broth. simmered for about 10 minutes, and it was perfect! served over basmati rice, with nann and raita on the side. my fiance raved, said it was better than any meal he'd had in an indian restaurant. a true keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States