Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I make this all the time, and the trick is to add more garam masala than the recipe calls for, and also add a little coriander and cumin. Also add a splash of water and let simmer for some time, keeping adding water to prevent drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was delicious. I did not have ground lamb so used lean ground beef. I used the cooked mixture as a filling for rolls. Although DH thought it was a bit dry after reheating, the taste was still spicy and great. I definitely will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was just "okay". Pretty bland. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
It was terrible, too dry to put over rice and an unpleasant taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was just GREAT!! Easy to make and my kids loved it. Added peas and one little sprinkle of curry powder, increased the broth as well. Will defintiely make this again :) Thanks for the additon to our ground beef rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
so very good! we don't eat lamb, so i substituted ground beef, and it turned out delicious. my modifications: i added a teaspoon of curry powder, and dashes of coriander and cumin. also, a bit of cayenne for a little heat; to us, indian food needs it! also doubled the beef broth so it would be more "saucy", and added about a cupful of frozen peas with the beef broth. simmered for about 10 minutes, and it was perfect! served over basmati rice, with nann and raita on the side. my fiance raved, said it was better than any meal he'd had in an indian restaurant. a true keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Yum! I'm actually enjoying it as I type. Now that I know how it turns out I'll try adding additional flavors that other reviews recommended. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I'm not sure about this one. It has a very different "floral" taste (from the Garam masala). After tasting, I added ginger, as suggested by one reviewer. Maybe it is one of those flavors you need to acquire a taste for, or already be familiar with. ? Plus, I do not know what to do with it. I wanted to stuff a pepper with it, or something. It seemed too dry to put over rice or noodles. My creativitity is at a standstill on this one. I am not sure what veggies, etc. would COMPLIMENT this unique flavor. Any suggestions would be appreciated, because I made a double batch and will have to freeze half. I wish I had a recipe for the "raitha" one reviewer said they added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
THANK YOU!!! This tastes just like a dish I tried from a Pakistani woman and had asked her for, but never received the recipe. The only thing its missing is a little ginger, which I will add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Used lean ground beef, was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States