Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So I had to make a lot of changes to this one that's why I only gave it 3stars. I used about 1 lb of lean ground beef. I used 2.5 tablespoons of Garam Masala, .25 tsp cumin, .25 tsp coriander, a dash of curry powder, and a little chipotle chile pepper to taste. I also added about a cup of diced potatoes. I left out the tomato, but kept the other ingredients. I served it with warm whole wheat pita bread. It was really good, and even better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. As an Indian, I would say this had a distinct sawdust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was simple to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is totally a 5+ dish. Both for taste and easy of preparation. I only had one pound ground lamb and tofu spaghetti noodles and it turned out absolutely wonderful. DH added just a few drops of hot sauce to his but otherwise made it exactly as written. Thanks for another wonderful meal. I will be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Made this recipe tonight with the girlfriend using 1 lb. Ground Turkey. Served over Rice (for her) and Angel Hair (for me). We served it with a Cilantro-Mint Chutney on Pita Bread, and followed with some Gulab Jamon. There was extra Cilantro, so we through it in the Keema. It was wonderful, although we ended up dirtying nearly ever plate, bowl, and cooking utensil we own. Good times in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
As written, this is pretty boring. I added some cumin, ground coriander and turmeric. Also threw in some browned cubes of paneer. Turned out ok. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i'm indian and we make keema quite often. we mostly make it with beef or mutton. i think it needs more spices like jeera(cumin), dhania(coriander) and if you want it spicy maybe some chilli powder(i like my food extra hot!).add a couple of cinnamon sticks for a lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gitu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought I liked Indian food but I guess I was wrong. As another reader said, the garam masala had way to much of a floral taste, and I love lamb, but for some reason I was creeped out by this dish. The only good part was the naan. This might not come as a surprise but I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great recipe. My husband ate the whole thing and wants me to make it again. I did add some cumin and coriander. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe is pretty basic and I have enjoyed it the few times I have made it. This recipe comes close to restaurant style keema.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States