Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Good recipe, however i took others advice, and added a cinnamon stick, 2 cardamon pods, coriander powder, cumin, and chopped up some jalapenos for some added spice. I also used only 1 heaping tablespoon of tomato paste. It came out wonderful, I will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
My family is Desi, and to make this the traditional pakistani way, use ground beef. Also, we add potatoes that cook in the broth. It always has peas in it traditionally. Also, it is missing cumin (this is a MAJOR ingredient in keema) as well as a couple cinnamon sticks and some cloves. We have never eaten this with Raita, usually with some parathas or pooris over basmati rice. This is like the desi meatloaf recipe: lazy night cooking, as it is super quick and easy. You don't usually find this in a restaurant because it is so simple, but it is the simple dishes that evoke the most memories. I love this dish. Also, I would not add curry powder to this, but it does not matter what you add I guess, it just does not traditionally have it. And it is the cinnamon that brings out the heat (spicy-ness) in the dish so it is a critical ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe helped me achieve the tastier ground meat that I've ever cooked myself! Since I live alone and don't have many ingredients in my tiny kitchen, I substituted garam masala for Italian Seasoning and instead of beef broth I poured a small bag of Latin American Sofrito into the skillet. Guess the results are not Indian at all but very yummy nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyboza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this with ground sirloin (my grocery store doesn't carry ground lamb, unfortunately), and it was very flavorful! Served with Nan or rice and a vegetable, this makes a fabulous main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
So I had to make a lot of changes to this one that's why I only gave it 3stars. I used about 1 lb of lean ground beef. I used 2.5 tablespoons of Garam Masala, .25 tsp cumin, .25 tsp coriander, a dash of curry powder, and a little chipotle chile pepper to taste. I also added about a cup of diced potatoes. I left out the tomato, but kept the other ingredients. I served it with warm whole wheat pita bread. It was really good, and even better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. As an Indian, I would say this had a distinct sawdust flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOTHEBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was simple to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This is totally a 5+ dish. Both for taste and easy of preparation. I only had one pound ground lamb and tofu spaghetti noodles and it turned out absolutely wonderful. DH added just a few drops of hot sauce to his but otherwise made it exactly as written. Thanks for another wonderful meal. I will be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Made this recipe tonight with the girlfriend using 1 lb. Ground Turkey. Served over Rice (for her) and Angel Hair (for me). We served it with a Cilantro-Mint Chutney on Pita Bread, and followed with some Gulab Jamon. There was extra Cilantro, so we through it in the Keema. It was wonderful, although we ended up dirtying nearly ever plate, bowl, and cooking utensil we own. Good times in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
As written, this is pretty boring. I added some cumin, ground coriander and turmeric. Also threw in some browned cubes of paneer. Turned out ok. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States