Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Despite reading countless other reviews suggesting to add extra spices. I made the recipe exactly as written. The flavour was all right, but I think it could have used a little something else. I would suggest reading the posted reviews and adding the extra spices that you think would fit your families tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
made this tonight with ground turkey and a small can of tomato sauce. sprinkled in a bit of indian chili powder for some heat, and BAM! this was unbelieveably good. i also added some peas for a veg. will make again and again. my DH didn't even realize it was turkey. i bet it would be outstanding with lamb and can't wait to try it that way! thanks for the post ajr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I, too, added a little cumin and coriander. It was a little too spicy for my kids, but I and the hubby loved it, of course he also added sriracha. I didn't have raitha, so the kids topped with some sour cream to cut the heat. I made it a "one-pot" dish by adding one cup of RICE and some peas, upped the beef broth to 2 cups, brought to a boil and then put on low, covered for @20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Stick with the recipe and don't add the extra spices. If you do, you won't be able to taste the lamb. Otherwise good quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was great!! I did, however, make a few changes. First I heated some olive oil and added about a tsp of cumin seeds, a broken cinnamon stick and 2-3 cloves (let them crack/pop). Then added onion, sauteed, followed by garlic (we use heaps of minced garlic). Added ground turkey (healthy and an amazinggg substitute in so many dishes!) and mashed it. I left in those juices from the turkey as we did not have broth. Then added salt and a can of diced tomatoes (not drained), and followed up with about 2 tsp of garam masala (essential ingredient!!!), 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1 tsp coriander powder and red chili powder to taste. Simmered on low for 20 minutes. My hubby is FROM India and he loved it!!! Definitely a quick tasty recipe... but go easy on the spices if you aren't a huge spice person!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very yummy but needed a bit more spice/flavours. I used extra lean ground beef and I added cumin, cayenne, coriander, tumeric & salt and pepper. With the additions it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is flat out incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good. I doubled the sauce and added peas along with comino and some cayenne pepper for the hubby. No cucumbers or plain yogurt in my small town grocery so I had to settle for sour cream and chopped cilantro which I thought was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made it exactly as written - very tasty! I served it over spaghetti squash (it's that season). What a marvelous combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina Wheeldon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was AWESOME! But instead of lamb, I used ground beef, because I already had it. Tasted fantastic. Once the meat and seasonings were simmering, I added a little more tomato paste for moisture. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Boyfriend wants it again so it MUST be great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States