Keema (Indian-Style Ground Meat) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe was excellent and super easy! Based on the previous reviews I made the following modifications: used ground beef instead of lamb, only used 1.5 TBS garam masala, added 1/2 tsp. curry and 1/2 tsp. cumin, added 1 can of chick peas, used 5 tsp. of tomato paste, used 1 cup beef broth. Served over jasmine rice and it was fantastic! Excited to have found a new ground beef recipe for the books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I really like this dish! I did less than half of my garam masala substitute and it was still spicy, so do add a little at a time while tasting as you go to ensure you don't over do it! A great inspiration recipe that you can add to if you desire, which is what I did. I took the author's advice and added veggies: frozen mix of peas, carrots, corn & green beans, sweet potatoes, celery & cauliflower serving it with buckwheat instead of rice. I substituted and added other ingredients according to what I didn't have, etc: ground beef instead of lamb, 1/2 packet of onion soup mix instead of onion, 1.5 tsp Chana Dal masala instead of 2 Tbsp garam masala & added 1.5 Tbsp yellow curry (I cannot handle hot spice, hence the decrease), 1/4 tsp sea salt (reduced salt due to type & using onion soup mix), increased tomato paste to 5.5 fl oz can adding 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup whole milk (due to increased volume of dish b/c of added veggies, & to help reduce spiciness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
As a base for a recipe this is a good start. I also did as others suggested, adding cumin, clove, curry powder and peas. Made for a tasty, fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Despite reading countless other reviews suggesting to add extra spices. I made the recipe exactly as written. The flavour was all right, but I think it could have used a little something else. I would suggest reading the posted reviews and adding the extra spices that you think would fit your families tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
made this tonight with ground turkey and a small can of tomato sauce. sprinkled in a bit of indian chili powder for some heat, and BAM! this was unbelieveably good. i also added some peas for a veg. will make again and again. my DH didn't even realize it was turkey. i bet it would be outstanding with lamb and can't wait to try it that way! thanks for the post ajr!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I, too, added a little cumin and coriander. It was a little too spicy for my kids, but I and the hubby loved it, of course he also added sriracha. I didn't have raitha, so the kids topped with some sour cream to cut the heat. I made it a "one-pot" dish by adding one cup of RICE and some peas, upped the beef broth to 2 cups, brought to a boil and then put on low, covered for @20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Stick with the recipe and don't add the extra spices. If you do, you won't be able to taste the lamb. Otherwise good quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was great!! I did, however, make a few changes. First I heated some olive oil and added about a tsp of cumin seeds, a broken cinnamon stick and 2-3 cloves (let them crack/pop). Then added onion, sauteed, followed by garlic (we use heaps of minced garlic). Added ground turkey (healthy and an amazinggg substitute in so many dishes!) and mashed it. I left in those juices from the turkey as we did not have broth. Then added salt and a can of diced tomatoes (not drained), and followed up with about 2 tsp of garam masala (essential ingredient!!!), 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1 tsp coriander powder and red chili powder to taste. Simmered on low for 20 minutes. My hubby is FROM India and he loved it!!! Definitely a quick tasty recipe... but go easy on the spices if you aren't a huge spice person!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very yummy but needed a bit more spice/flavours. I used extra lean ground beef and I added cumin, cayenne, coriander, tumeric & salt and pepper. With the additions it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is flat out incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States