Keema Aloo (Ground Beef and Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Unique, tasty and filling. I followed this to a tee and we loved it. Would be great with cauliflower as well. Served with rice and naan. Reheats really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
It dish was so yummy. I didn't have turmeric and masala and It was just fine without it. Instead of green peas I added chopped fresh Kale. I also used a can of basil, oregano and garlic diced tomato which I think added to the flavor. This dish actually reminded me of something my mom makes and she adds quail eggs to it so next time I might just do that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Oh, my gosh! This was so good! I've been making Keema Alu with another (well-known) cookbook's recipe for years and love this dish. This recipe from Allrecipes is just as yummy. My kids say this one is not as spicy as my other recipe, which pleases one kid but not the others. We serve ours with rice, a salad, and naan. I grind my own spices, except for the garam masala, so they are really fresh. (I do this in a small coffee grinder.) The Serrano pepper I used was ripe red. To save time, you could use ginger paste found in the produce section. We probably eat this dish at least once every three weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Easy recipe to make, tasted fabulous, and the leftovers are a great lunch the next day. My only change was eliminating the Serrano and halving the cayenne, since I am a lightweight when it comes to heat. It gave me the Indian food flavors I was craving, without having to worry about what a restaurant considered "mildly" spicy. Great first venture into making this genre of food at home. Thanks for posting the recipe, Meataterian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was surprisingly delicious. We ordered Indian takeout from a highly-rated restaurant a few weeks ago and honestly this was just as good. I had a little less meat than the recipe called for so I increased the potatoes and peas, and added about a cup of water to compensate for the increased potatoes. I did not have garam masala so I used a recipe from this site to make my own, and I had everything but the cardamom for that. I omitted the serrano chili and reduced the cayenne pepper to make it more suitable for my toddlers, and everyone loved it. As other posters have said, this was even better reheated the next day. Oh, I was also out of olive oil so I substituted coconut oil, and that worked just fine. Really a terrific recipe that uses ordinary ingredients in an un-boring way. Will definitely make this again and again. I am hoping it doubles and triples easily for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
A very flavorful recipe. I diced the potatoes and used green beans in place of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Photo by Maria B
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So easy and so good. Follow the recipe exactly and turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I was really happy with this recipe. I left out the serrano chili pepper because it would've been too spicy for my kids but it still had a little bite to it. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Family loved this. I could not find garam masala, so I used Tiki masala instead. I dont like anise so it worked out pretty good for me. I loved all the flavor and I served this on top of Jasmine rice with a side of tomato, cucumber, onion, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt salad and a side of plain yogurt. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Tweaked this recipe a lot since I didn't have coriander or cilantro or tumeric. Still tasted great by substituting different curries. My kids loved it! Served with some jasmine rice. Very simple and the house smelled wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States