Keema Aloo (Ground Beef and Potatoes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Good stuff! I halved the recipe and I still have a ton of left overs! I reduced the amount of Serrano chili and cayenne pepper. I also added a little bit of curry powder and Balti seasoning. I threw in fresh cut up cauliflower instead of the peas. Served over cooked jasmine rice. YUMM! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Was great. I had to cook it a little longer to get the potatoes tender so I added an 8 oz. can of tomatoe sauce to keep it saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was delicious and even better the second day. Diced the potatoes fairly small to be same sized as the peas. I halved it all except for the diced tomatoes and served it over basmati rice. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Absolutely incredible flavor! This was pure comfort food. I used an average size can of tomatoes instead of the large can the recipe called for. I didn't have any cilantro or peas on hand, substituted dried ginger for fresh, and this recipe was AMAZING!!!! Served it over jasmine rice. OH, WOW. Simply wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This recipe was super easy to make last minute! I modified it just a tad, because I didnt have all of the ingredients that the recipe called for (I was missing the fresh ginger or cilantro, so I used powdered and dried. And I didnt have garam masala. So i found a recipe on here and used that to make my own.) I served over basmati rice. DH and my 2 year old LOVED it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Oh, my gosh! This was so good! I've been making Keema Alu with another (well-known) cookbook's recipe for years and love this dish. This recipe from Allrecipes is just as yummy. My kids say this one is not as spicy as my other recipe, which pleases one kid but not the others. We serve ours with rice, a salad, and naan. I grind my own spices, except for the garam masala, so they are really fresh. (I do this in a small coffee grinder.) The Serrano pepper I used was ripe red. To save time, you could use ginger paste found in the produce section. We probably eat this dish at least once every three weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
A very flavorful recipe. I diced the potatoes and used green beans in place of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Loved it! Made it as per the recipe, served on white rice with na'an. Great flavor but not too spicy. Delicious, easy and relatively quick. Will be having this again soon I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baketeer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Delicious! I substituted curry for the garam masala that was missing from my spice rack. I cut back a bit on the cayenne, and tasted the serrano before I add it. It was a fairly mild one. I thought the finished dish had the perfect heat. This recipe would be good with ground lamb, too. My family thought we didn't even need rice. The potatoes were enough to make it feel like a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States