Kedgeree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made this last week and it turned out great! I used perch as that was what I had in the freezer (added smoked paprika when cooking the fish in the milk). I added 3 T. curry powder, 1 t. cumin & 1 t. smoked paprika to boost the flavor. Substituted corn for peas as others suggested and used 4 eggs instead of 2 (I love eggs). I also added about a 1/2 c. water after the onions had browned a little, to combat the dryness. Tasted delicious and the leftovers were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris white

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I'm about to try it -- it sounds wonderful. What I want to know is is it necessary to cook smoked fish? All the kedgeree recipes call for cooking it, but we eat smoked salmon as is on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My son says "Yum!!!" But I did change it a little!! He doesn't like peas, so I used sweetcorn, I only used 1 cup of Rice and double the quantity of smoked haddock and 5 teaspoons of curry powder!! Definitely morish!!!! Mmmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Bridlington, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Owen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
It was awesome! The curry added a great deal of flavor. I see others were talking about how bland it was, but I didn't find that. High in protein, I see why it was a breakfast meal. I will definatley have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Delish! I did as others suggested and used half the rice (brown basmati). I couldn't find fresh smoked haddock, so I used canned smoked herring, and it worked out well. Then I added the bay leaf to the rice while it was cooking and added a touch of coconut milk (my standard sub for cream/milk) to the rice after it was cooked. I seasoned it with quite a bit of salt, but it was really the yogurt (I used Greek) that brought out the flavors. Easy and delicious--a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I also made this quite recently and I have to agree with sarahv ~ it was very time consuming for an extremely dry and very bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have never attempted Kedgeree before and really looked forward to it. Unfortunately it was really disappointing. I thought it was loads of effort for a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I was forced to eat kedgeree as a kid, and I absolutely hated it. Oddly, I crave it every now and again. If you can't get smoked haddock, kedgeree isn't worth making imo. Personally, I make it with half and half (stir it into the egg/rice/fish mixture). I also add a little fresh parsley. Finally, two cups of rice for two servings is way excessive - one cup is more than ample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was a pleasant suprise. I loved the great mix of flavors of the smoke and the curry. The only thing I've ever done with smoked haddock before was Finnan Haddie (a creamy, buttery dish). My quandry was that I'm trying to take off a few pounds and can't afford a white sauce....and here my mom gave me this smoked haddock. I used brown basmati rice (Trader Joe's) and scaled the rice down to just two cups cooked rice. Used olive oil instead of butter...just because. I'll make this one, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Huevos Rancheros

A simple tostada-style breakfast with fried eggs, beans, bacon, and salsa.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States