Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
A good spaghetti sauce. I followed the recipe with one exception - I used a 15 oz. can of Italian tomatoes because it's what I had. If I make this again, I think the recipe could stand for one 28 oz. can to be Italian blend tomatoes, just for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
just average, I found it too thin. And bland.sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a very simple recipe. I changed the ground beef with ground Italian Sausage. This gave it more of an Italian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbert Len Moser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The sauce is even better if the sugar is left out. Most canned tomato's are sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
My home made sauce is very similar. The difference is that I roast pork neck bones & add it to the simmering sauce. It adds even more flavor and always brown the meat & saute the veggies before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Pretty good basic recipe. My family's sauce starts with olive oil, minced onion, cook for a couple of minutes, add minced garlic and tomato Paste, stir constantly to carmelize the paste, add more oil if dry, no sugar is needed, and I only add bell peppers when I'm making chicken cacciatore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Instead of sugar, I added a little milk...a tbs. or a little more. It took away the acid taste so I could omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
2 tablespoons of olive oil does not make up for the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richosea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good, but besides the sugar add red wine. now that will clinch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wow! I may never buy jarred sauce again! I believe in giving a review on recipes as they are writtten before making any changes - however I used only one pepper, as they are not my favorite but hubby likes them in his sauce. This was not just quick and easy but tasted great, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States