Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good, but needs mushrooms and red wine! No sugar please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Didn't find this sauce very exciting..too sweet for my taste...I enjoyed the freshness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This sauce recipe was amazing! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and now he says we can't eat spaghetti (or pasta for that matter) any other way! As other users have mentioned, we added tomato paste to thicken the sauce, and we did not blend the tomatoes to keep the sauce chunky. We added extra garlic, spices, and sprinkled parsley flakes on top close to when the sauce was ready for serving. Instead of two tablespoons of white sugar, I used a dash of white sugar and a few splashes of red wine to taste, as recommended by other users. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I'm Italian and I find myself refering to this recipe often! Its a really good base. Sometimes we use ground turkey instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
All it needed was a hint of nutmeg and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
TRY 2 TEASPOONS OF CRUSHED ANISE ADDED, MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE TO THIS BASIC SAUCE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Last night made this recipe and it was delish! I substituted diced tomatoes for stewed and it turned out fine! Will make again! My family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
02/25/2012 I made this recipe today & we LOVED IT!! I did make some ajusments due to what I had. I made a large batch. So I used 1 lb.gr.beef & 1 lb. reg sausage browned in skillet with 1large white onion & 1 large gr.pepper. While that was browning I put in food processor Diced Fire Roasted Tomatoes(2cans) 2 reg cans diced tomatoes & chopped it down cause my husband doesnt like chunks of tomatoes. Poured all that into a crockpot. Added a large can of tomatoe sauce I did use the basil & oregano as recipe called for & I used 2TBSP Brown Sugar instead of white. I used some Mrs.Dash in the garlic blend because I had no fresh garlic as recipe called for. I cooked on low setting for 5 hours. I think maybe it would of been fine at 4hours. Just make sure you use enough tomatoes to cover all of your meat mixture. Large batch but we will freeze some of it. I usually use jar spaghetti sauce & doctor it all up but when I got this email from Allrecipes I just had to try. Fantastic!!! I WILL be making this for years to come now!! Make sure to read other reviews cause ALOT of people have good ideas. TB From New Sharon,Iowa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I find the comments others make on how they changed the recipe to be just fine. Helps me make decisions on how to cook or even if I want to try the recipe (I don't bother to look at the number of stars given). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
My family loved this spaghetti sauce! I will make it again for just the adults in the house and instead of sugar, grate some carrot in the mix when browning the veggies (for sweetness), add a cup of port wine and some red pepper flakes and give it some zing. My kids don't eat spicy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States