Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
YIKES! 2 whole tablespoons of sugar? I'm thinking the onions give you sugar - so would the addition of some carrots and grated raw beets. Then you're adding actual nutrition - a happy trade off for those extra carbs. No veggies in the bin? Try adding a single teaspoon of sugar. Maybe a little milk. Far as I reckon, Sauce isn't meant to taste like ice cream. I'd boost the oregano 2 or 3 times, as well as the basil. Garlic sounds right. Try using a can of tomato puree instead of the stewed tomatoes, and don't bother blending anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My only problems with this recipe was that I felt it called for too much bell pepper. I added an extra pound of ground beef because I love meaty sauces and I've often found that most spaghetti sauces don't have as much ground beef as I enjoy. However even with that extra pound of beef, all the bell pepper made for a "crunchy" sauce. Smelled delicious while cooking, but the end results were disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcgreg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madera, California, USA
Living In: South Padre Island, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I love cooking Italian, and when I saw this recipe had to try it. This may be a new fav!! I used 1 box of chopped tomatoes and a small tube of tomato paste. I also decided to use half ground beef and half bulk Italian sausage (would try to find spicy next time but regular was fine) and also added mushrooms, because I like them and also like lots of veggies. It was awesome! I put it over spinach fettucini because I like the visual of the red sauce and green noodles....YUMMY! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I am Italian and come from a big family of great Italian-American cooks. I never heard of making homemade sauce using stewed tomatoes, so I tried this recipe out of curiosity....not a favorite, sorry. I suggest using the crushed tomatoes, tomato puree (in place of stewed tomatoes), a small tomato paste and then fill paste can with warm water, and add that as well. My family does put 2 TBSP sugar in our sauce recipe, but stewed tomatoes already have sugar added, so maybe this is why others have said this is too sweet? And always start your sauce by sauteing the fresh garlic with about 1/4 c. olive oil, that gives the sauce a wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corvette Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I am sorry to give this recipe a 3 star review but I was so disappointed with this recipe. My husband enjoyed it but I think he was being kind. The flavor was lacking and the bell pepper was way overpowering not in flavor but in overall texture. I am sorry to say I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe. I am a vegetarian and I added Morning Star meal starters crumbles and added ricotta cheese (I made Lasagna). I am going to try this sauce for the "tomato chicken parmesan" without using the crumbles and using this sauce instead for 12oz jar sauce. I am confident it will turn out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I may never buy spaghetti sauce again. It was easy and tasted awesome. I used the suggestion to slow cook it in the crock pot and it was wonderful. I did not blend it either as I like it "chunky" .. perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelz1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eaton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Loved this and so did my family. I used one onion and one bell, tomoato paste and italian sausage. Kept the sugar and didn't think it was too sweet. My son, who does not like jar spaghetti sauce, actually liked this one a lot. Finally a an easy homeade spaghetti sauce - I will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good, but needs mushrooms and red wine! No sugar please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Didn't find this sauce very exciting..too sweet for my taste...I enjoyed the freshness though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States