Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good! I used Italian-seasoned ground turkey and pureed tomatoes, and skipped the blender. I let it simmer for around an hour. Needed quite a bit of salt, but that depends on how much salt is in your tomatoes. If you make it with turkey, you'll end up with a lot of water that needs to be cooked off/drained before you add the tomatoes, so allow time for that. (This is the nature of ground turkey, in my experience, and nothing to do with this recipe.) I used the full amount of sugar and didn't find it too sweet, or sweet at all - nice and mellow, but not sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Pretty good. I used 1 onion, not 2- just seemed like too much. I had to add some extra spices at toward the end of the cooking time as it seemed a bit bland. Will likely make again- maybe use a jar od sauce in place of the canned tomatoes as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Left out the green peppers, just not a fan of them in spaghetti sauce. Great recipe. Never would have thought to use stewed tomatoes.Thanks for posting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever tried. It freezes well too.I will be making this again for sure. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was one of the best spaghetti sauce that I came across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Yes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was good, but next time I will do as suggested and cut the sugar in half. It was a little sweet for my taste. I think I will also add some red pepper flakes to give it just a little more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It never made sense to me when people would ask why anyone would buy sauce when it's so easy to just make a better sauce yourself. Now I understand. Just make it as written and enjoy. If you don't like bell pepper (like me), at least use 1. The sauce needs that flavor layer. Other than that, don't mess with it. I made the mistake of following advice of adding tomato paste...no bueno. NOW FOR THE MEAT LOVERS: Buy a pound of ground meat and a pound of Italian sausage. Use 3/4 of each for a total of 1 1/2 pounds of meat in the sauce. Here's the bonus: mix the remaining 1/4 pound of each together with a good pinch of red pepper flakes. Make a couple of patties, or meatballs, or whatever form you like, and sprinkle on a little season salt. Cook in a hot skillet with a bit of olive oil. I like it with a little char on it for a grill-like flavor. Serve it on top of the dish for a bonus kick to a wonderful pasta. Your resident meat lovers will love you for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Ladies, add Parmesan, great addition. Wonderful recipe. This will be handed down as a family favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Best spaghetti sauce recipe I have ever made. I only used one onion and Italian sausage instead of ground beef. I have had so many people ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States