Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by DrinallEC
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The final product of this recipe turned out really well. The taste of the spaghetti was a bit watered down, but was still overall good. The directions and actually making the dish was straight forward and easy to follow. The picture of the dish shown above looks very similar to what our final product looked like. This dish was cooked in a high school cooking/nutrition class and we were assigned to groups. My cooking group altered the recipe to serve 4 people instead of 8 because that's how many people were in our group. Also, we used less tomatoes than what was recommended in the recipe, which was probably the reason why it tasted watered down. Other than that, nothing else was changed in the recipe. If our group was to make the recipe again, we would most likely use all the tomatoes that the recipe said to use so that the sauce wouldn't taste so watery. The final product looked similar to the pictures shown above, but there appeared to be less sauce so it looked watered down. I would definitely recommend this recipe to another person, especially those who love spaghetti. I'd also say to stick to the recipe as much as possible for the best taste possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It was good. I only used one onion, and 1/2 a red pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp parsley, and 1/2 tsp brown gravy mix. Also, 1tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Nice and thick...I did add tomato paste and small amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Makes a great sauce and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I was looking for a recipe that was quick, easy and great tasting. This was it! The only thing I am going change when I make this again this week is I am going to use Italian sausage instead of hamburger. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
follow the recipe exactly as it is atleast the first time. I always make the mistake of looking at the ingredients and thinking... this is too much or too little. I added an extra can of diced tomatoes and it was watery. had to cooking it on high to dry it up. when I did it was fantastic! Ive been trying to make a sauce like this for as far as I could remember. I'm way better at Alfredo or Rosé sauces so when I finally found this one and made it I cannot explain what I felt. this sauce is a must try and a keeper! My family thanks you a million!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This spaghetti sauce is amazing! I didn't have a green bell pepper so I used a yellow and red instead, the only other thing I did differently was I added a dash of cinnamon. My husband is not a big spaghetti fan unless it's made with sausage and he even loved this sauce! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donalsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I loved it! I'm giving a 4 because I followed some other recommendations. I used 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey, 1 onion, no peppers, sauteed the onion and garlic, then added the ground turkey and browned. I did use the recommended stewed and crushed tomatoes and seasoning. I added everything to my slow cooker and cooked on low for 5 hours. Next time, I will add a can of tomato paste, as I didn't think it had enough tomato flavor. I will also try brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States