Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Another good hint if you don't want to use sugar is to add a carrott, either small baby ones or a large one split up the middle. The carrot adds natural sweetness to the sauce and was also from an old Italian lady who my mom got the secret from. The one who gets the carrott in their sauce is said to be going to have good luck!!! Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBAYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe and one I have been making for years. I would definitely use diced tomatoes instead of stewed and skip the blender if you like it chunky, which we do. You can use ground beef, ground turkey, Italian sausage or a combination (or no meat at all). I cut the onion and pepper in half. Also 2 T sugar is way too much, unless you like it sweet. 1 T is plenty to cut the acidity. I love using fresh herbs instead of dried whenever possible and lots more of them. Add a bay leaf or two as well as some mushrooms and you have the perfect sauce. Sorry, I usually don't change recipes so much and then rate them but this one is just so versatile. Never thought of using a slow cooker before but I bet that would be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is the same recipe I learned as a child from Itailian wives in Newton Falls Ohio in 1948! I have so had so many compliments on it and it is so simple! Sometimes I add a little turkey sausage and it too is well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have been making my sauce this way for 25 years. The only change is to cook the green peppers until they are soft, put them in your blender then into the sauce. You need the green peppers for flavor. When the sauce is done let it sit for 24 hours to let the flavors blend. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Lobster Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Grew up on this recipe for over 50 years. Whrn I married an Italian his entire family tried to get this from me! The sugar cuts the acid. Its great! As with another reviewer stated the sugar can be adjusted to your tastes. Great meatless too, freezes well, so double, triple the recipe and freeze remaining for a quick weekday meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
very good base with minor changes to suit my taste: a little too sweet/would cut down the sugar next time. I added 2 TB olive oil (though I did use the meat) and 1 can of tomato paste to amp up the tomato flavor. I added mushrooms because we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
good but too sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used this base to create my own amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Loved the sauce. It was a little sweet, I will probably use a little less sugar next time. I also added mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved the recipe. We used crumbled sweet italian sausage instead of beef and it was delicious. just add a good amount of salt and pepper to contrast the sweetness from the sausage, peppers and sugar. Also angel hair pasta with it was awesome. Thank you much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States