Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Instead of sugar, I added a little milk...a tbs. or a little more. It took away the acid taste so I could omit the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
2 tablespoons of olive oil does not make up for the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richosea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Good, but besides the sugar add red wine. now that will clinch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wow! I may never buy jarred sauce again! I believe in giving a review on recipes as they are writtten before making any changes - however I used only one pepper, as they are not my favorite but hubby likes them in his sauce. This was not just quick and easy but tasted great, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Lovely sauce and so easy.. try using brown sugar and a wee dash of worcestershire sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jockie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is a great basic recipe, and the only thing I would say is that you don't have to blend the tomatoes. My family likes it a little chunky! Also, I add a little red wine to the sauce as it's simmering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is awesome, I added a cup of red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It's basic and delicious. The Italian recipe I got years ago had a secret ingredient in it, which, instead of sugar, called for sweet pickle relish in about the same quantity, a tablespoon or 2, depending on how a big a batch of sauce and how sweet/sour the tomatoes are. It makes the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morden, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I have been making this exact sauce for years. It is very good. This makes exactly 3 loaf dishes of sauce. I use glass. Since there are only 2 in our family, I freeze 2 of the loaf dishes and have sauce on hand whenever I need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I've been sneaking sugar into my spaghetti sauce for a long time. I think it helps offset the acid in the tomatoes, I learned not to tell people because I usually get eeeooo "sugar in spaghetti", my family doesn't know and they haven't complained about my sauce. It is good to get some validation from an actual Italian cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States