Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Excellent recipe for our canned tomatoes. This recipe does not disapoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I only had crushed tomatoes. This was delicious! I'll use it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRodMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Changes to recipes are all a matter of personal taste and preference. This sauce was delicious. If anybody has been making this for 100 years they must be very old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadene Kretschmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy Frosto Swank
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
So easy to make! I only used one onion and did not use the bell pepper since I was making the sauce for lasagna; I did add some red pepper flakes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Frosto Swank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used ground turkey and added red pepper flakes.. Came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I made this with no-salt added, diced tomatoes. My changes: 1 lrg onion, 1 bell pepper and 1 tablespoon sugar. I didn't use any meat just made the sauce. This made a very good base sauce on which to build off of. For a NO salt sauce it is very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Point, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very good. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. Tasty but the second time I used only one green pepper ,ground turkey instead of beef, and add a can of tomato paste to the turkey onion and pepper before adding other ingredients. This is a great sauce !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eilyncueto89
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved the recipe. But just like other reviewers, I did a little tweaking. I added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 of a cup of red cooking wine, 1/3 of a cup of water and simmered for only 30 min. If sauce gets too try add some tomato sauce and a bit more of wine. I also added some freshly grated Parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese and mixed all together while mixture was still on pan. Overall it's a great meaty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! My changes included using ground turkey (my friend asked me if I used sausage or ground beef, he couldn't even tell). After adding the meat I let it simmer until most of the liquid evaporated. Then I added a cup of red wine. Wait until it evaporates and then add the tomatoes. I also used red bell peppers (they were on sale). Forgot the sugar. Overall a great meat sauce, and healthier with the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added more sugar so a sweeter sauce. But so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States