Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent sauce! I made as written except used low fat beef to cut some calories and used white onion instead of yellow and it was great on my spaghetti. The only change that I will make next time is to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It turned out so wonderful. I gave it 5 star but I did cut out the green pepper and oregano. Also I used some of the advice from others and used italian style diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and crushed tomatoes (in equal proportions) instead of the original recipe. I did add about a teaspoon and a half of italian seasoning, about a generous scoop of crushed red pepper (I looove spicy food) and used two large leaves of fresh basil instead of dried basil. I let it simmer for almost three hours and it turned out amazing!! Great go-to recipe for sure!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DrinallEC
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The final product of this recipe turned out really well. The taste of the spaghetti was a bit watered down, but was still overall good. The directions and actually making the dish was straight forward and easy to follow. The picture of the dish shown above looks very similar to what our final product looked like. This dish was cooked in a high school cooking/nutrition class and we were assigned to groups. My cooking group altered the recipe to serve 4 people instead of 8 because that's how many people were in our group. Also, we used less tomatoes than what was recommended in the recipe, which was probably the reason why it tasted watered down. Other than that, nothing else was changed in the recipe. If our group was to make the recipe again, we would most likely use all the tomatoes that the recipe said to use so that the sauce wouldn't taste so watery. The final product looked similar to the pictures shown above, but there appeared to be less sauce so it looked watered down. I would definitely recommend this recipe to another person, especially those who love spaghetti. I'd also say to stick to the recipe as much as possible for the best taste possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It was good. I only used one onion, and 1/2 a red pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp parsley, and 1/2 tsp brown gravy mix. Also, 1tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Nice and thick...I did add tomato paste and small amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Makes a great sauce and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I was looking for a recipe that was quick, easy and great tasting. This was it! The only thing I am going change when I make this again this week is I am going to use Italian sausage instead of hamburger. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
follow the recipe exactly as it is atleast the first time. I always make the mistake of looking at the ingredients and thinking... this is too much or too little. I added an extra can of diced tomatoes and it was watery. had to cooking it on high to dry it up. when I did it was fantastic! Ive been trying to make a sauce like this for as far as I could remember. I'm way better at Alfredo or Rosé sauces so when I finally found this one and made it I cannot explain what I felt. this sauce is a must try and a keeper! My family thanks you a million!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This spaghetti sauce is amazing! I didn't have a green bell pepper so I used a yellow and red instead, the only other thing I did differently was I added a dash of cinnamon. My husband is not a big spaghetti fan unless it's made with sausage and he even loved this sauce! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Donalsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States