Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! My changes included using ground turkey (my friend asked me if I used sausage or ground beef, he couldn't even tell). After adding the meat I let it simmer until most of the liquid evaporated. Then I added a cup of red wine. Wait until it evaporates and then add the tomatoes. I also used red bell peppers (they were on sale). Forgot the sugar. Overall a great meat sauce, and healthier with the ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I love this recipe! I added more sugar so a sweeter sauce. But so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The sauce was watery and lacked flavor. I ended up adding another pound of ground beef & quite a bit of additional seasoning. Even after all the "doctoring" it still seemed to be lacking in flavor. The biggest problem for us was the sauce did not cling to the spaghetti at all. I saved the sauce and plan on adding some tomato paste to the leftovers in order to give the sauce some substance and depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great basic sauce. Instead of sugar, I use carrots to sweeten the sauce and reduce the acid. For sauces that I cook longer, I use a few spare ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I've been making this for 3 years now. I've never changed the recipe because it's so good as is. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent sauce! I made as written except used low fat beef to cut some calories and used white onion instead of yellow and it was great on my spaghetti. The only change that I will make next time is to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Renee
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
It turned out so wonderful. I gave it 5 star but I did cut out the green pepper and oregano. Also I used some of the advice from others and used italian style diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and crushed tomatoes (in equal proportions) instead of the original recipe. I did add about a teaspoon and a half of italian seasoning, about a generous scoop of crushed red pepper (I looove spicy food) and used two large leaves of fresh basil instead of dried basil. I let it simmer for almost three hours and it turned out amazing!! Great go-to recipe for sure!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DrinallEC
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The final product of this recipe turned out really well. The taste of the spaghetti was a bit watered down, but was still overall good. The directions and actually making the dish was straight forward and easy to follow. The picture of the dish shown above looks very similar to what our final product looked like. This dish was cooked in a high school cooking/nutrition class and we were assigned to groups. My cooking group altered the recipe to serve 4 people instead of 8 because that's how many people were in our group. Also, we used less tomatoes than what was recommended in the recipe, which was probably the reason why it tasted watered down. Other than that, nothing else was changed in the recipe. If our group was to make the recipe again, we would most likely use all the tomatoes that the recipe said to use so that the sauce wouldn't taste so watery. The final product looked similar to the pictures shown above, but there appeared to be less sauce so it looked watered down. I would definitely recommend this recipe to another person, especially those who love spaghetti. I'd also say to stick to the recipe as much as possible for the best taste possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
It was good. I only used one onion, and 1/2 a red pepper. I also added 1/2 tsp parsley, and 1/2 tsp brown gravy mix. Also, 1tsp salt and 1 tsp pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States