Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Excellent shortbread recipe! I added about 2 tablespoons of whipping cream after reading the other reviews. This was so easy to make and the cookies were gone before I knew it. They are very buttery with just the right amount of salt. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is the day before grocery day, my daughter wanted to make cookies, but I had no eggs. I found this recipe and read the reviews. It seemed simple and easy enough for a 4 yr. old to help with and not be too frustrating for me. I only had a cup of all purpose flour, so I used that and a cup of self rising flour. I added the 1/4 cup extra powdered sugar like others suggested. I should not have added the salt. I only had a tiny bit of vanilla extract left. I just dumped it in. I doubt it was a full tsp. Also, I only a 1/2cup of butter so I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter instead. Since 4yr olds are impatient (just like moms with a sweet tooth) I decided to spoon the dough onto cookie sheets and had my daughter press them out with a fork (like peanut butter cookes). 10 min at 350* and we were in business! Even with all of the substitution, these were so delicious. Very light and melt in your mouth. I will never buy store short bread cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is a very good recipe, I did make some adjustments per reviewers' & my likings = added more sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Easy and delicious! Don't be afraid to get your hands dirty, the dough is stiff and I found that it was easier to work with my hands. It was delightful when finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
My usual recipe from cookbook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made these cookies following the recipe exactly and they were amazing. I ended up mixing the butter in by hand because the dough wasn't coming together, but I may have just been impatient. I left half plain and spread Nutella on the other half and topped with crushed pretzels. My husband declared them the best cookies he has ever had! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Sooooo goooood!!!! I put caramel and toasted almond on top with a drizzle of chocolate and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Most delicious shortbread I ever made! I had to hide some from my mother so I'd have enough for a party I was going to lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Melts in your mouth. The confectioners sugar gives it a smooth texture and the edges have a golden, buttery taste. A new staple in my recipe box. Thanks Kay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I gave this 5 stars because it is super easy and delicious. I put a wedge in a cup with cut up strawberries and vanilla ice cream or whipped cream and my dinner party adored it, and it looks pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliarn
Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States