Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was SO good! I used the shortbread as a base to add apples and cream and make a bread pudding like dessert. I was surprised that my shortbread turned out ok, because I had to cook it on the top of the grill in foil; my oven was dead. Thanks Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are the shortbread cookies you'll want to make! yum! not overly sweet! when you go to mix the ingredients it will seem like a crust. but it all works out! place in your pan and press into the pan. be sure to cut them while they are hot! I chocolate dipped mine. oooooooooh la la! I'm going to serve them at a church tea party. this recipe is a keeper! I wish I could give it 20 stars! Thanks Kim!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
An excellent, rich and heavy shortbread. I added 1 tablespoon of cornflour to add richness as well as a few drops of almond essence for a more nutty flavour. I baked it in a rectangular pan and cut squares. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These were very tasty but only after I made a couple of modifications (as suggested by other reviewers). When I followed the recipe exactly, the shortbread came out terribly dry and not sweet enough for my tastes. So I added 1/4 cup more confectioner's sugar, and 1/4 cup milk to soften the shortbread. With those modifications, it was delicious! Thank you for a simple, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Yummy, will never buy shortbread fromt he store again. Amazingly easy and so delicious. One thing though i did have to cook it for about 45 min, :D Thanks for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This recipe turned out fabulous.. I had tried some other recipes on this site for shortbread that turned out terrible. With this one, I did make some minor changes and I loved the results. I used brown sugar instead of white, and only 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also added a dab of milk to moisten the dough. I didn't use round, but a regular rectangle non-stick cake pan. I wanted to cut out cookie squares, so it worked out wonderfully. I added almond slivers, halved cherries for each little square, and powdered sugar on top. Sooooo yummy! thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very easy. Gave some slices to a coworker who doesn't like super sweet desserts, and she was impressed I had never made it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was really good. The dough looks a lot different than other shortbread I've made, but it turned out great. Took a bit longer than 30 mins, but that was probably my oven. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishy44
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I wish I could give this 10 stars.... This is the absolute best... I've searched and tried them all, but this is the winner hands down. Easy to make and people just RAVE RAVE about it. It makes a great gift. I put coarse sugar on top and it's just beautiful. If you're a shortbread lover in search of the perfect recipe. Stop here, you've found it... Easy to make and mouthwatering....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
really easy, quite simple; quick to assemble. I was worried about the result, it looked crumbly and unappealing, but when cooked it was as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States