Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This recipe turned out fabulous.. I had tried some other recipes on this site for shortbread that turned out terrible. With this one, I did make some minor changes and I loved the results. I used brown sugar instead of white, and only 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I also added a dab of milk to moisten the dough. I didn't use round, but a regular rectangle non-stick cake pan. I wanted to cut out cookie squares, so it worked out wonderfully. I added almond slivers, halved cherries for each little square, and powdered sugar on top. Sooooo yummy! thank you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Very easy. Gave some slices to a coworker who doesn't like super sweet desserts, and she was impressed I had never made it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was really good. The dough looks a lot different than other shortbread I've made, but it turned out great. Took a bit longer than 30 mins, but that was probably my oven. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishy44
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I wish I could give this 10 stars.... This is the absolute best... I've searched and tried them all, but this is the winner hands down. Easy to make and people just RAVE RAVE about it. It makes a great gift. I put coarse sugar on top and it's just beautiful. If you're a shortbread lover in search of the perfect recipe. Stop here, you've found it... Easy to make and mouthwatering....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
really easy, quite simple; quick to assemble. I was worried about the result, it looked crumbly and unappealing, but when cooked it was as promised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
These were delicious and I ate entirely too many of them! I cut them into shapes while still a little warm. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I baked these cookies for my boyfriend for Valentines - they're delish!! I didn't have all the ingredients, so I substituted the vanilla extract for 2 tsp of vanilla nesquick (milkshake mix) and it worked just as well! For an added Valentines touch, I sprinkled the cookies with pink jelly crystals and moulded them into heart shapes :). These cookies are so yum that I had to force myself not to eat all the batter!! The only complaint I have is the high fat content - but they're great for a treat! :) I will definately bake these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This shortbread was very good and very easy. I had to make it twice - the first time it was not done but, the second time I baked it for about 50-55 minutes and it was perfect. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Good recipe, next time I will add more powdered sugar as suggested by a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I'm not a huge fan of shortbread, but my husband and daughter gave this recipe an enthusiastic five stars. A very easy recipe, and it had a lovely texture. This seems like it could be a good base for a lot of desserts, actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States