Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These were deliciously light and buttery. I chilled the dough and hand-rolled these into cookies. I substituted about 3 tbsp of flour for cornflour, and added green tea powder (matcha) for a Green Tea Shortbread. I also dusted abit of green tea powder on it before baking.It's a gift for my Mom, and I know she'll love it! Thank you (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
wow. Dipped mine in chocolate for Valentines treats and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
My first time making shortbread and this turned out great! Taking others' advice I added extra sugar and a bit of milk to soften (actually, I added cream). Also added a touch of almond extract. My husband is Scottish and he said these are nearly perfect. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very good. I followed the recipe exactly. These are not very sweet at all, but melt in your mouth ( isn't that what shortbread is all about?). The other reviewer is right - MIX,MIX,MIX. It will finally all come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
For anyone finding this recipe "crumbly and hard to manage" you're not mixing the butter and sugar enough. Mix, mix, mix - a lesson my mother taught me long ago. This recipe is delicious! I used an 8x8" pan as I wanted them thicker than the 9x9" pie plate or pan would have been. I never made any changes except to leave off the sugar on the top of the cookie which I felt was unnecessary. This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was SO good! I used the shortbread as a base to add apples and cream and make a bread pudding like dessert. I was surprised that my shortbread turned out ok, because I had to cook it on the top of the grill in foil; my oven was dead. Thanks Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are the shortbread cookies you'll want to make! yum! not overly sweet! when you go to mix the ingredients it will seem like a crust. but it all works out! place in your pan and press into the pan. be sure to cut them while they are hot! I chocolate dipped mine. oooooooooh la la! I'm going to serve them at a church tea party. this recipe is a keeper! I wish I could give it 20 stars! Thanks Kim!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
An excellent, rich and heavy shortbread. I added 1 tablespoon of cornflour to add richness as well as a few drops of almond essence for a more nutty flavour. I baked it in a rectangular pan and cut squares. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These were very tasty but only after I made a couple of modifications (as suggested by other reviewers). When I followed the recipe exactly, the shortbread came out terribly dry and not sweet enough for my tastes. So I added 1/4 cup more confectioner's sugar, and 1/4 cup milk to soften the shortbread. With those modifications, it was delicious! Thank you for a simple, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Yummy, will never buy shortbread fromt he store again. Amazingly easy and so delicious. One thing though i did have to cook it for about 45 min, :D Thanks for this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States