Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I mucked this up and used caster suger instead of confectioner's suger by mistake. I didn't want to waste the ingredients, yet when I mixed it all up, the dough wouldn't come together. So I added about 1/2 tin of condensed milk, which worked perfectly. Rolled it out and cut it into star shapes, and they made the most delicious cookies I've had in a while! All the taste of shortbread, yet nice and moist and chewy! Sorry - This is probably one of the most unhelpful reviews, yet if anyone else makes the same mistake, they should give it a go! I know I'll be making this 'mistake' again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wow... this was really good... I sprinkled a little more sugar and some cinnamon on top, just enough to look like a thin layer, and my boyfriend LOVED this recipe... thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This has an excellent texture, very flaky and buttery and crisp! I give it 4 stars only because it was not sweet enough for our family. I added a total of 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and took another reviewer's advice and divided the dough into 2 sections and made "logs". I then rolled the logs in various things - green and red sugar, Christmas sprinkles, and one with Heath Bites. I cut logs into 1.5" circles, then baked on parchment lined cookie sheet. 15 minutes at 350. Spectacular with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I have tried many shortbread recipe's and having grown up with my Mum's recipe many pale in comparison and I have been making her recipe for many years to great acclaim! (We are from Scotland). This was quite tasty, a little too floury and if you never had it before it would do nicely. Thanks for the recipe Kay, but I guess when you have a good one you should just stick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Awesome! I forgot to put the sugar on before I baked it, but adding it after worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was my first time making shortbread so the disappointing results may be my fault. I wasn't sure how to mix the butter in so I first tried to cut it in with a fork (kind of like a pie crust). Then I gave up and mixed it with my fingers and that worked fairly well. I doubled the recipe and pressed the dough into a rectangle and cut it into bars. I did get 35 bars that were about 1x3 inches and about 1/2 inch thick. I baked for 20 minutes and that was just enough. I did forget to add the white sugar to the top and I definitely missed it. This was only my first attempt so I will definitely try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
It's been years since I made shortbread. So glad I chose this recipe because it was delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only thing I didn't do was sprinkle white sugar on top (although I bet it would be great with it) and instead of making it in a pan, I chilled the dough and rolled it into balls, pressed them down a little bit, and baked them as cookies. Same temp of 350F, and I took them out when they were golden. This makes a great buttery shortbread! I didn't run into any problems, and as someone else mentioned, be sure to mix well so that all the butter is incorporated. Making this my Christmas shortbread for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These are very very good. I really mixed my butter & sugar well as another reviewer suggested and had no trouble with dryness. I did add the extra 1/4 cup of pwred sugar...but I'm not sure it really needed it. I think it may take away from the buttery taste. I divided the recipe into two cake pans and my cookies were a little more crisp, how I like them. Remember mixing well may be the secret. Also start with your butter at room temp. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have a lot of really pretty Christmas cookie stamps and I've been looking for a recipe to use them with. This worked great. Instead of baking one large round, I rolled pieces of dough into balls and then pressed down with the stamps. They held the pattern perfectly and turned out beautifully. And because of the powdered sugar, they were melt in your mouth soft and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Wow, truly an amazing, authentic shortbread recipe. It's very buttery, moist, dense and MELT-IN-YOUR-MOUTH delicious. I agree w/ the other reviewers by needing a bit more sugar, so I added 1 extra tablespoon white sugar and dusted it with powder sugar immediately out of the oven. (No need for sugar on top b4 baking) I also added 1 tablespoon milk since it was a bit dry and made the dough nice n' moist. I've also used almond extract instead of vanilla the second time and it was VERY good. I cut mine into 1" x 2" inch mini bars and have it with a hot cup of English Breakfast tea in the morning or when I have company and it's HEAVENLY. Keep it in an airtight container and it tastes just like the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States