Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
this recipe looks nothing like the picture after you make it...i did everything right and it tasted really bad.and pretty dry. it tastes like a plain pie crust or something. since you have to rate it i just put 1 cause its the lowest but i dont even think it deserves that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Absolutly delishious. Not a fan of shortbread and this one was a HIT! I have tried many recipes and this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Amazing! The best shortbread I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I've never made shortbread before. Is it supposed to taste like pie crust? Regardless, it WAS delicious. I made a glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar and poured on top for icing. Yummy! I think I overmeasured the flour thus it was a little floury-tasting so next time I'll go a little under 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe--they're so delicate and delicious. I actually roll out the dough and use cutters with it. I've shaped them into "fingers", dipped them in caramel and chocolate and made homemade Twix bars. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I had a lot of compliments on this recipe. It wasn't too hard to do at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Walter Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
GREAT! Simple to make, great taste. We sprinkled a little raw sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I mucked this up and used caster suger instead of confectioner's suger by mistake. I didn't want to waste the ingredients, yet when I mixed it all up, the dough wouldn't come together. So I added about 1/2 tin of condensed milk, which worked perfectly. Rolled it out and cut it into star shapes, and they made the most delicious cookies I've had in a while! All the taste of shortbread, yet nice and moist and chewy! Sorry - This is probably one of the most unhelpful reviews, yet if anyone else makes the same mistake, they should give it a go! I know I'll be making this 'mistake' again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wow... this was really good... I sprinkled a little more sugar and some cinnamon on top, just enough to look like a thin layer, and my boyfriend LOVED this recipe... thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This has an excellent texture, very flaky and buttery and crisp! I give it 4 stars only because it was not sweet enough for our family. I added a total of 3/4 cup of powdered sugar and took another reviewer's advice and divided the dough into 2 sections and made "logs". I then rolled the logs in various things - green and red sugar, Christmas sprinkles, and one with Heath Bites. I cut logs into 1.5" circles, then baked on parchment lined cookie sheet. 15 minutes at 350. Spectacular with these modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States