Kay's Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Wow! These are fabulous. My family asks me to make them over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVELEIGH98
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Easy & delicious! This has become a Christmas tradition. It always come out perfectly, I am not sure if it's the recipe or the shortbread pan I have, but it seems foolproof. It's important to cut it right away while it is still hot, otherwise it gets brittle and the cuts will be jagged. I flip it right onto a firm cutting board and cut it immediately then transfer the slices to a cooling rack. I sprinkle it with red and green colored sugar before baking. I always use my kitchenaid mixer and have never had a problem. The dough looks like pie crust dough does before you add water, very crumbly, I then press it firmly into my shortbread pan, and I have never had a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I thought for sure I couldn't make anything on this site..I went from party girl 24/7 to step mother of two and wife. I ran acrossed allrecipes.com and decided to sign up.. I am tryed your shortbread. It was awesome. I added a couple things to it when it came out of the oven and cooled. I made a banana-strawberry puree dipped one side in them and layered strawberrys and bananas on them. HUGE hit! family loves them... Thank you very very much Kay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Yummy! Mine were super-crumbly--don't know if I cooked too short a time (I added another 7 mins. to baketime) or if something else was a bit off. Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
this is really delicious shortbread and some of the easiest to make. I would however recomend adding some whole milk to the recipe to make it moist and coating the top with milk before dusting with sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Excellent flavor, but slightly crumbly. Maybe I should press it into the pan more firmly?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was a really good recipe, though, I did modify a little. I added a splash of milk to the dough as to other's suggestion. I also made them into cookies instead of putting in a pie pan. I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harmonie Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
To make cookies from this recipe you have to lower the oven temp to 325F otherwise they burn. Also used 2/3 cup confectioners sugar, a few teaspoons water, and green tea emptied from tea bags. They were fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Just as shortbread should be. I followed recipe except I did not have vanilla extract and used lemon extract instead. I must say I think I like it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very, very good. Followed other recommendations and made sure the dough was well mixed. Added 3/4 cup powdered sugar (in lieu of 1/2 cup). Otherwise, followed the directions. Made a very simple, very tasty, flakey shortbread. Great with tea or coffee. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States