Katy's Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I don't like 'conventional' scalloped corn. Your recipe was exactly what I was looking for! The only thing I did differently was adding some cajun seasoning...but, only because it went with the rest of the meal I was preparing...it turned out great!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is just what I have been looking for, my mother makes something similar, she just adds a little salt and pepper. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The brand of creamed corn will make a huge difference in the result of any scalloped corn recipe. I always use Del Monte and always have great success with a nice creamy consistency, good flavor and no watery separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy Ehlers Whitney

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is my fav version of scalloped corn. I added an additional can of corn to the recipe and about 1/4 to a 1/2 cup of heavy cream to keep it really moist and creamy. It was excellet. So many holiday memories are in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a great change from the traditional scalloped corn I've had. I had to change this recipe a bit as I was out of egg, so I omitted the egg, added 2 Tbsp. sour cream and added a extra 1/4 cup cheese. I also added garlic cloves to the celery,onion & green peppers. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemyscents

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My family LOVES this recipe. I really wouldn't change a thing. We have it every Thanksgiving and we DON'T have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheshops2much

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I can't have corn but I made it for hubby as written.He says it gets 4 stars and believe me from DH that's quite a compliment! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My family love it! I omited the green peppers and added 1/4 cup of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alvarado, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
WENT OVER REALLY WELL, BUT TURNED OUT A BIT WATERY. NEXT TIME I WILL PROBABLY ADD A LITTLE SALT & PEPPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I was anticipating a nice creamy scalloped corn casserole, but what I ended up with, unfortunately, was a watery casserole. I cooked this for an additional 25 minutes hoping that the liquid would cook down, but it didn't. Basically, I don't think this tasted much different than if I'd just heated all ingredients in a saucepan on top of the stove and then sprinkled with the crackers before serving. I followed this recipe to the letter, but I would definitely make some changes if I were to make again. First, I'd increase the oven temperature to 375 or even 400. Then I'd cut the butter and oil in half (you really don't need a 1/4 cup of fat to saute the small amount of veggies). Also, from a presentation point of view, a little bit of butter on top of the crumbs would brown them and make the casserole more eye appealing. And a little bit of salt and pepper wouldn't hurt either. This simply didn't measure up to what I consider scalloped corn. Kitkaty, sorry for the harsh review, but this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States