Kat's Island Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I really LOVED the way this recipe turned out!! I actually used a bit of Caribbean Jerk spice on the chicken (because we like it HOT HOT HOT!) and it really blended very well with the fruits. It was SO easy to make - completely foolproof. I will most definitely make this again, my husband and I felt like we were on our honeymoon back in Jamaica again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
While very visually appealing onthe plate, I will need to tweak this recipe. I found the paprika to be a bit "abrasive" and believe a marinated chix breast will bring more depth to the recipe - looked great, though! I tried this recipe on 140 guests last week for possible addition to my catering menu, and no one asked for the recipe, so I know it needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was really good, will make again. I used whole chicken breast, topped with lots of fruit and baked at 350 for about an hour and 15 minutes. The result was really tender juicy breasts with a hint of fruity flavor and of course paprika. We thought the combination was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
A++ This recipe is wonderful "as is" but I like to add a little chili powder and cayenne pepper to spice it up. It gives it a great sweet and spicy kick thats just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made this for the first time for company. Very easy to put together and the presentation was superb. One guest said it looked like restaurant quality food. The dish was delish but I think I will spice up the chicken more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very good. Boyfriend said it tasted like restaurant quality! Added red pepper, cloves, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Richard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This cooked up really well the chicken was great. I was however bothered by the citrus that was cooked with the chicken. I couldn't stand the thought of eating it, so I tossed it and cut up additional citrus that I served with the chicken in it's raw natural state. This was more to my taste of course and I found it a great solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was delicious! I made if for a few friends. I added creole seasoning to the chicken and chopped up an onion to add in. It came out great and my guests really enjoyed it! I also used yellow rice instead of spanish rice which was very good with the bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Great recipe! My husband and I loved it the way it is written and made it again with our personal variations. The second time it was prepared with the chicken cut in large cubes tossed in a healthy coating of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and baked with plenty of mushrooms just because I love mushrooms *smile*. Definitely a keeper recipe that is wonderful the way it is or if you want to be creative and add some different veggies or sauce. We will try the next time with Teriyaki sauce...mmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY442

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I halved the recipe and found it delicious! I loved the flavor of the chicken and the combo of pepper and fruit. My store didn't have black bean soup so I just topped with warm black beans. It was still good but I am definitely going look harder for the soup because it needed sauce to keep together! Even my boyfriend who hates fruit loved it! Will make again for sure! Don't know why buy my baking time took almost double than the recipe... just fyi..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States