Kat's Alfredo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I took this to a family reunion and got rave reviews! I did change a couple of things, though. Instead of potatoes, I used frozen hash browns (32 oz bag) and 2 fresh containers (10 oz each) of Alfredo sauce. I probably added a little more swiss and parmesan than called for but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This dish was delicious and went a long way. The milk really brings out those onions though, I might use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Tried this recipe for an elegant side dish with Chicken. They stuck to the dish pretty good, even tho it was sprayed well, so you have to watch them on that. We liked them, but I would add maybe a bit more Parmesan than I did. I also covered the dish with foil for the first hour, then removed it for the last 15 minutes, & sprinkled Paprika on top for a little added color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
These were very very good. I used one of the other suggestions of using 6 potatoes and cutting the milk in half because I used an 8x8 dish. I also added garlic powder and used pizza cheese instead of swiss. The only thing is next time I'd let them bake a lot longer. They weren't as tender as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this for a church potluck, with a few adaptations so I could use items I had on hand. I used shredded pizza blend cheese and a light alfredo sauce from a jar. I added a liberal sprinkling of liquid smoke flavoring. I baked covered for the first hour and a quarter, then sprinkled more cheese over the top and browned it, uncovered, for about 10 more minutes. It came out perfect! Keeping this recipe, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I was intrigued with this recipe, so I had to try it. Part of my job is to create interesting and new recipes and I really liked the basis of this one. I gave it 5 * because of the changes I added to it. I par boiled my potatoes whole for about 15-20 min. Just until fork goes in fairly easy when tested. Cooled completely. I used klondike gold potatoes. I used really large ones. I used Bertolli alfredo in the jar. Used 2 jars because my potatoes filled a 13x9 dish pretty full. So I doubled all the ingredients listed. I didn't use the onion because too many in the family don't like them. I added mined garlic about a tsp. Added italian seasoning. I don't measure but it was a good size pinch. Along with the parsely. Did'nt add any salt because of the salty cheeses. Added a lot of black pepper and cayenne. Added a bit more swiss and fresh grated parm.than called for. Baked about an hour. 15 minutes before I took it out I topped it with more swiss and parm and sprinkled with panko crumbs and stuck it under the broiler. Everybody raved about these at our Easter dinner! As far as I was concerned it was the best part of the meal! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I love this recipe! My boyfriend requests it at least once a week. I change it up now and then, varying the type of sauce, or replacing things with what I have in the house, but it comes out fantastically every time. It's become a bit of a signature dish for company. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These were okay but I do not think I would make them again. Maybe it is the taste of jarred alfredo sauce. I tried adding a little cayenne pepper to give it some zing but that didn't even help it. The base recipe is okay but I would add some cheddar mayb or tope with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Unique potato side dish. Very rich. I didn't have shredded swiss so I used mozz cheese. Got a little greasy during cooking, so if I made this again I would cut down on the butter to a few small pats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Okay, I took a little bit of everyones suggestions and did the following: Use pizza blend cheese to replace swiss cheese. For 8x8, use 6 potatoes and cut milk in 1/2. Sprinkle some liquid smoke, add 1 tsp. of garlic powder and cook at least 1 1/2 hours. It came out wonderful and I wish I had followed anothers advice to sprinkle cheese on top the last 10 minutes of cooking. Was not disapointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States