Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was super easy and delicious. I used a bottom round roast that I had in my freezer. I also followed the advise of others and browned the meat first and deglazed the pan with just a few tablespoons of beef broth. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Polizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
No need to brown the roast. I use one package of onion soup and one can of cream of mushroom soup. I cook the roast for 8 hours and put the vegetables in for the last 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria430

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe was right on. Tender moist and delicious. As my family is a fan of spices, I added my usual: Lawyrs Season Salt, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder, Black Pepper, Dry Basil, Dry Thyme. I also added one can full of water to the mushroom/onion soup mixture. This gave the resulting gravy the right consistency (no need to thicken). I would make no other change to this recipe. Jaque, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is really good! The soups makes a terrific gravy. I only had a top round roast, not sirloin, but it didn't matter. The meat was fork tender. I rubbed the meat with fresh pepper and garlic powder prior to browning. As others suggested I mixed the soups in the pan used for browning in order to deglaze the pan. I didn't have new potatoes so I quartered russert potatoes. Make sure you have some bread on hand to pour over the remaining gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Made this last nite for dinner. Followed the receipe only difference was I bought a 3 lbs. rump roast. Meat was juicy and done just they way we like it. The gravy was delicious. Will have the leftovers tomorrow. The smell as it was cooking was throughout the house and couldn;t wait to sit down for dinner. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This roast was well-seasoned, but more slightly more salty flavored than I prefer. This was my second attempt at pot roast and overall a success. Cooked on high with veggies and all in about 5 hrs! The searing definitely makes a difference in the flavor and moisture. I used beefy onion soup mix and think I will use regular onion mix next time. That may have been where the extra salt came from. I think I will also add fresh herbs too for more taste. Very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
What an awesome recipe! It seemed WAY too simple to come out tasting SOOOO good... but don't be fooled by the simplicity... the end result will not disappoint you! Definitely take the extra time to brown the roast first; it seers in such great flavor. I cut up a few stalks of celery and added it along with the carrots and potatoes; also don't skimp on the amount of garlic because it pairs so well with the beef. This is a wonderful dish; it will be my "go to" pot roast recipe from now on. (Even my mother-in-law loved it and went back for seconds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was my very first slow cooker meal, and I have to say I'm hooked! I did make a few simple changes: used Healthy Request Cream of Mushroom soup to control the sodium content, put 3 whole garlic cloves in the soup mixture before putting the meat on top of it, and added some celery chunks. I served it with garlic bread and it was a real hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maui Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was just average for us. Nothing really set it apart as a great roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family enjoyed the flavor of this recipe, although it was a bit salty. The main problem we had was that the meat was very dry after 8 hours in the crockpot. I followed the directions perfectly, but just couldn't get the meat to turn out right. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States