Kathy's Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Easy to make and great recipe for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious! The only thing I would've done different is put the veggies in later after the roast. They came out a little too overdone. That's my fault though, because my slow cooker is crazy and likes to cook things too fast. My advice if you're making this for the first time is do it exactly as instructed. You can always personalize it to your taste later. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meihru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Fantastic flavor. It turns out somewhat firm (NOT tough) and not "melt in your mouth" which my husband, my 3-year-old and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and ended up with mushy potatoes and very tough meat. Browning the meat for 20 full minutes seemed like too much to me, but the ratings for this recipe were so high, I did it anyways. Won't do that again. I can't think of what else could have gone wrong. The flavor was good, but you should have seen all the chewing going on at our dinner table - we had some good laughs, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Fantastic - only added some onions to the veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Really good roast beef and veggies. I skipped the browning and it still turned out really flavorful. I also used a tri tip roast following the suggesting from another roast beef recipe that I use. The gravy was a little soupy, so I added some flour to thiken it up, and used french/crusty bread to sop it all up. Really delish, comfort dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
4 1/2 STARS WITH A FEW ADDITIONS - EASY, YUMMY GO TO ROAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was such a super easy recipe and tasted amazing that I had to rate it. I made mashed potatoes instead and didn't have 2 cans of cream of mushroom so I used cream of celery instead (not sure why I had it in the pantry). I also added some chopped celery. SUPER easy and delicious! It didn't look right without liquid so I used about 1/4 cup of chicken broth, marinade, season salt and italian (mixed) spice. AMAZING! The leftovers can be used with noodles or even open faced on bread. EVERYONE loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Joy Hartz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Actually, this is the ONLY way I cook a roast anymore. I have simplified this by buyng canned whole potatoes, and frozen stew vegetables. The frozen veggies include potatoes, carrots, celery and small pearl onions. After pan searing the meat on all sides, I place it in the crock pot, add 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of EITHER vegetable broth, OR beef broth, pour a generous amount of red wine into the pot, and then add a package of dried onion soup mix, and then the can(s) of potatoes, and the frozen stew vegetables. Lately I have been adding a can of tomatoes and 1 can of green beans, both drained. When the roast and veggies are finished, (you can tell by the meat rising and the liquid is boiling), I then stir in some Kitchen Bouquet and add a little flour and water to thicken the 'gravy' and the roast is all ready. I purchase a larger roast at either Sam's OR Costco, and its my habit to cut that roast in half and use only ONE half of the roast. The other is kept in the freezer for a future new meal. I never try to cook a roast in the oven anymore. In the crock pot, the meat is juicy, tender and has such a terrific flavor. The oven only dried out the meat and the veggies. The crock pot roast is the best! I have on hand a lot of those spice bottles now for hamburger, or steaks, etc, and I sprinkle some of each type into my masterpiece. Hubby and grandson LOVE it when I make a roast now. After the initial meal, you have a quick and easy stew to be reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
great recipe. I used a 4 pound bottom round roast. in slow cooker for 10 hrs. added some quartered sweet potatoes in addition to small red potatoes. also added frozen pearl onions, baby carrots(all I had). I also used a low sodium, low fat cream of mushroom soup (x2) and added more mushrooms, garlic cloves. house smelled fabulous. searing the meat first is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Brooks Mojo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States