Kathy's Italian Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
i have searched so long for these cookies. my motherinlaw died about 5 years ago and never got the recipe. it broke my daughers heart. yesterday i told her jeannine i think i found a recipe for nanas cookies and we both made them. as we were making them she said a prayer to her nana and said please nana help us with this. well when the cookies were done and we tasted them they tasted exactly like her cookies. my daugher started to cry and said mom i am so happy we found them. i have to thank u so much for this dream come true. my husband also said my god they taste just like moms cookies. i have to say thank you thank you for helping us with this. love jeannine and mary ellen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Was looking for a recipe like my husband's grandmother, and this was it!!! These are excellent and so easy to make...thank you for sharing! The only extra we do is to add a little anise extract to the icing, it makes them just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I rarely give any recipe 5 stars because I'm always trying to please 3 other picky family members, however my family LOVED these cookies. My son practically at a dozen by himself before I could get them to a cookie tray for Christmas eve. I sprinkled with red sugars. Will definately have these on my cookie trays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
These were good. They were light and not too sweet. I added orange zest in the cookie batter as well(I just love orange zest!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Excellent recipe --my italian boyfriend and his family devoured them. They are light and soft. I added 1 tsp almond extract, (next time I'll add 2 since I liked the flavor). I made them into knots and added colored sprinkles after dipping them in the glaze/frosting. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I had searched high and low....asking every Italian friend I knew and no luck until I found Kathy's recipe...I can now stop looking. My spouse is a happy cookie monster. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This recipe was just okay for me. The next time I make it I'm going to try adding chocolate chips like Sonia did to add a bit more flavor to the cookie. I like the glaze, but it might be helpful to know that if you are going to sprinkle with colored sugars, do it one cookie at a time immediately after you dip them or the glaze may harden too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These ARE the best! They are a staple on our Christmas table every year. My Aunt passed this down from her family in Italy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Great cookies. I also used orange rind, and only used 2 cups of icing sugar for the glaze. My grandma made something similar but rolled the dough to a longer length before forming the circles. As with most Italian cookies be prepared to spend some time in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My husbands aunt has made these for years and everyone loves them....unfortunately her recipe was a little of this and a little of that...haha..and we never could duplicate them...I showed her this recipe...she had me add a hint of fresh lemon juice to the icing and a little more lemon juice to the batter and they were unbelievable.....I can't believe how good they are...I am so excited that I can now make these great cookies. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States